° empty

Local athletes honored today

NATCHEZ — The Miss-Lou Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will honor six seniors at 7 tonight at its annual awards banquet at the Eola Hotel.

Ole Miss football coach Hugh Freeze is the guest of honor at the banquet, which will award six local football players with scholarship money funded by the annual Joe Fortunato Golf Tournament in May.

A committee headed up by Teresa Busby, the vice president of the Copiah-Lincoln Community College Natchez campus, will divide $10,000 of scholarship money among the six athletes. The first-place winner will receive $3,000, the second-place winner $2,250 and the third-place winner $1,750. The remaining three will receive $1,000 each.

This year’s athletes to be honored include Adams County Christian School’s Tyler Buckles, Cathedral School’s Dakota Vaughan, Ferriday High School’s Jarvis Brooks, Natchez High School’s Gregory Jackson, Trinity Episcopal Day School’s Peyton Young and Vidalia High School’s Garrett Rehms.

Junior high school athletes Williams “Brody” Cole (ACCS), Zach Flattmann (Cathedral), Zavier Davis (Ferriday Junior High), Robert Bradford Jr. (Morgantown Middle School), Caden Gillespie (Trinity) and Christian Price (Vidalia Junior High) will also be honored.

In addition, the chapter will honor Bob Dearing with the Distinguished American Award and Joey Porter with the Contributor to American Football Award.