° empty

Local golf roundup: Knapp wins city women’s championship

NATCHEZ — Beverly Knapp overcame less-than-ideal weather conditions and a hard-charging Fran Farmer to defeat the defending champion by three shots Sunday afternoon to the 2013 Natchez Ladies’ City Golf Championship at Duncan Park.

Knapp won her second Ladies’ City Championship – her first one was back in 2007.

“It’s great (being a two-time city champion),” Knapp said.

It was a couple of good holes by her and a pair of bad holes by Farmer that turned out to be the deciding factors.

“I had birdies on 10 and 12. They were really important because I couldn’t putt,” Knapp said. “She made a birdie on 11 from 30 feet. Today was good even though it was wet. I survived. Most of the round, she kept the pressure on me.”

Knapp finished with back-to-back rounds of 81 to finish with a two-day score of 162. Her birdie on 12 gave her a 2-shot lead, but a bogey on the par-5 14th put her once again only one ahead of Farmer.

Farmer, who came into the final round trailing Knapp by just one shot, struggled mightily on the par-4 4th hole and found herself trying to get back into contention.

“I shot good today until No. 4, when I had an 8. That’s where I lost the whole tournament,” Farmer said. “Then I caught back up and I got to 10 just one back. Then it was back and forth. Then it was over on 18.”

An errant tee shot by Farmer ended up near a tree and from there, she just wanted to get the hole – and the tournament – over with. She ended up with a triple-bogey 7 to finish with a round of 83 and a two-day total of 165.

“It was very fun. I enjoyed playing with all these ladies,” Farmer said.

Judy Powell finished third with a two-day score of 183 and Mia Taylor came in fourth at 195.

Team St. Andrews holds off Team Carnoustie to keep Beau Pré Cup

NATCHEZ — It was a good thing that Team St. Andrews, captained by Mel Beltzhoover, had a three-point lead over Team Carnoustie heading into Sunday’s singles matches at the 2013 Beau Pré Cup at Beau Pré Country Club.

Team St. Andrews won just five singles matches, but two matches that went all square proved to be vital as it held on to defeat Team Carnoustie, captained by Kevin Smith Sr., by a single point — 14 1/2 to 13 1/2 — and kept the Beau Pré Cup in its possession for another year.

Chris Kelley, Hayden Kaiser, Keith Rayborn (by concession), Chuck Fields and Bill Byrne each won matches for Team St. Andrews, gaining 1 point each. Bruce Reynolds and All Conn earned a half a point each by going all square with Wade Heatherly and Wes Middleton, respectively.