Today last day for absentee voting

Published 12:06am Saturday, June 21, 2014

from staff reports

The Natchez Democrat

NATCHEZ — Today is the last day Adams County residents can vote absentee for the upcoming runoff election Tuesday.

The Adams County Circuit Clerk’s Office will be open from 8 a.m. until noon today for the final day of absentee voting, Adams County Circuit Clerk Eddie Walker said.

“It’s been pretty steady this whole week for absentee voting,” Walker said. “I’m going to guess that this election will see the same turnout or maybe a few more than the last.”

Of Adams County’s 20,178 registered voters, 20.52 percent, or 4,140 voters, cast ballots in the June 3 primary election.

The ballot will include the Republican U.S. Senate runoff election between challenger Chris McDaniel and incumbent Sen. Thad Cochran and Democratic candidates for Mississippi’s Third Congressional District.

The Republican race was close, with McDaniel leading Cochran statewide by 1,386 votes. That was not a majority, so a runoff was scheduled. Thomas Carey was the third candidate in the primary and received about two percent of the votes.

Rep. Gregg Harper, (R) the incumbent congressman, defeated challenger Hardy Caraway in the first primary.

The two candidates in the Democratic runoff for Congress are Douglas MacArthur Magee and Dennis C. Quinn. The winner will face Harper in the November general election.

Walker said all Adams County polling places will be open for voting from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Voters who voted in a particular party in the June 3 election cannot cross party lines.

Those residents are required by law to vote in the party’s second primary election when they cast their ballot.

Those who did not vote in the first primary can vote in the second primary.

The voter will be required to choose in which party, Democratic or Republican, they wish to vote.

Walker also reminded residents to be sure they take a photo ID with them to the polls on Tuesday.

Mississippi voters approved a constitutional ballot in 2012 to require voter ID at the polls, beginning with today’s election.

The state accepts many forms of identification as acceptable for voter ID, including a driver’s license, State of Mississippi photo ID, U.S. Passport, firearms permit or student photo ID card, among others.

Residents who arrive at the poll without a photo ID can still vote in the election.

Those residents will be asked to vote by affidavit ballot at the polling place and will then have five business days to show an acceptable form of photo identification, or apply for a Mississippi Voter ID card at their Circuit Clerk’s office.