° empty

About Us

From steamboats to spaceships – The Natchez Democrat has told the stories. From the great steamboat race between the Natchez and Robert E. Lee in 1870 to man’s first moonwalk some 100 years later, and even more recently the landing on Mars, Miss-Lou readers found the stories in their Natchez paper.

The Natchez Democrat was started in 1865 by Capt. James W. Lambert and Paul A. Botto. Capt. Lambert bought the Botto interest only a few months after the paper got its start that October, and four generations of Lamberts published the newspaper until 1970, when it was purchased by James B. Boone Jr. of Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Today, The Democrat is owned by Natchez Newspapers Inc., which also publishes the Miss-Lou Guide, and is a part of the Boone Newspapers Inc. publishing group.

Cited as Mississippi’s Best Community Newspaper by the Mississippi Press Association, The Democrat and its staff have garnered numerous awards for writing, photography, layout and design, including Best of Boone honors for two years in a row.

The Democrat covers Adams County and its neighboring Franklin, Wilkinson, Amite, Claiborne and Jefferson counties in Mississippi and Concordia Parish in Louisiana. It is published seven mornings a week.

Much has appeared in the pages of The Natchez Democrat:

  • The great steamboat race between the Natchez and Robert E. Lee in 1870.
  • Man’s first moonwalk some 100 years later, and even more recently the landing on Mars.
  • Coverage of wars since the Civil War through modern times.
  • Countless scrapbook memories of weddings, engagements, births, deaths and an untold number of “refrigerator moments” of life, clipped and proudly displayed in kitchens across the community.

And we continue to report our community’s history each and every day — informing and entertaining thousands each day in print and online.

Leadership Team

Kevin Cooper : Publisher

Kevin Cooper

Publisher

kevin.cooper@natchezdemocrat.com
Nona Colombo : Retail marketing director

Nona Colombo

Retail marketing director

nona.colombo@natchezdemocrat.com
Rita Brooks : Regional Classifieds Call Center Manager

Rita Brooks

Regional Classifieds Call Center Manager

rita.brooks@natchezdemocrat.com
Ben Hillyer : News editor

Ben Hillyer

News editor

ben.hillyer@natchezdemocrat.com
Julie Cooper : Special projects coordinator

Julie Cooper

Special projects coordinator

julie.cooper@natchezdemocrat.com
K.O. Bennett : Pressroom foreman

K.O. Bennett

Pressroom foreman

ko.bennett@natchezdemocrat.com
Sam King : Circulation director

Sam King

Circulation director

sam.king@natchezdemocrat.com
Cassie Strickland : Business office manager

Cassie Strickland

Business office manager

cassie.strickland@natchezdemocrat.com

News Team

Ben Hillyer : News editor

Ben Hillyer

News editor

ben.hillyer@natchezdemocrat.com
Julie Cooper : Special projects coordinator

Julie Cooper

Special projects coordinator

julie.cooper@natchezdemocrat.com
Vershal Hogan : Senior reporter

Vershal Hogan

Senior reporter

vershal.hogan@natchezdemocrat.com
Lindsey Shelton : Assistant news editor

Lindsey Shelton

Assistant news editor

lindsey.shelton@natchezdemocrat.com
Megan Ashley Fink : Reporter

Megan Ashley Fink

Reporter

megan.fink@natchezdemocratcom
Cain Madden : Reporter

Cain Madden

Reporter

cain.madden@natchezdemocrat.com
Nicole Hester : Photographer

Nicole Hester

Photographer

nicole.hester@natchezdemocrat.com
Reed DeSalvo : Sports editor

Reed DeSalvo

Sports editor

reed.desalvo@natchezdemocrat.com
Taylor Denman : Sports reporter

Taylor Denman

Sports reporter

taylor.denman@natchezdemocrat.com

Marketing Team

Nona Colombo : Retail marketing director

Nona Colombo

Retail marketing director

nona.colombo@natchezdemocrat.com
Rita Brooks : Regional Classifieds Call Center Manager

Rita Brooks

Regional Classifieds Call Center Manager

rita.brooks@natchezdemocrat.com
Justin Clarkston : Marketing consultant

Justin Clarkston

Marketing consultant

justin.clarkston@natchezdemocrat.com
Pascha Brown : Marketing consultant

Pascha Brown

Marketing consultant

pascha.brown@natchezdemocrat.com
Lauren Smith : Marketing consultant

Lauren Smith

Marketing consultant

lauren.smith@natchezdemocrat.com
Tim Givens : Graphic designer

Tim Givens

Graphic designer

tim.givens@natchezdemocrat.com

Customer Service Team

Sam King : Circulation director

Sam King

Circulation director

sam.king@natchezdemocrat.com
Theresa Davis : Bookkeeper / customer service / legals clerk

Theresa Davis

Bookkeeper / customer service / legals clerk

theresa.davis@natchezdemocrat.com
Anita Hood : Circulation route supervisor

Anita Hood

Circulation route supervisor

anita.hood@natchezdemocrat.com