Team Louisiana wins golf tourney

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 19, 2000

After three days of competition, it was only right that the inaugural Michelob Cup Matches come down to the final holes. The competition pitted golf pros from Louisiana against Mississippi pros. Team Louisiana defeated Team Mississippi 7-4 Tuesday to capture the overall title 12-11 at Beau Pre Country Club.

&uot;It was beautiful,&uot; Team Louisiana captain Rick Miller of LaPlace, La., said of the competition which teed off Sunday. &uot;Hopefully we can give Team Mississippi a shot next year and coming back and getting us.&uot;

Tuesday’s play involved singles match play.

Email newsletter signup

Team Louisiana winners were David Church, Bill Mullican, Jake Narro, Dean Baham, Fred Schroeder, Ed Selser and Dennis McGrail.

Team Mississippi winners were Ken Smith, Richard Kelly, Kent Smith and Anthony Price.

&uot;It was a great event,&uot;&160;said Beau Pre Country Club golf pro Mark Powell. &uot;All of the pros loved it. They want it to be an annual event.&uot;

Powell said golf pros visiting Beau Pre for the first time were impressed.

Miller was in that group.

&uot;I&160;had a couple of people tell me it had a nice layout,&uot; Miller said. &uot;But you can’t appreciated it until you get out there and take a look at the bluff and the surroundings. It’s winter now and there are no leaves on the trees, so I can just imagine how good it looks in the spring and summer.&uot;