Qualifying begins for city election

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 2, 2000

With the qualifying deadline for Natchez municipal elections still nearly two months away, things have been unusually quiet around the city clerk’s office lately. Two candidates have qualified for this year’s elections: Dr. Fredericka Todd, who will be running for city clerk, and current Ward 1 Alderwoman Joyce Arceneaux, who is running for re-election.

&uot;We’ve only done one election since I’ve been in office, and it seems like there was more activity last time,&uot; City Clerk Frances Trosclair said.

Trosclair’s office is up for grabs this year; she said last month she will not seek a third term.

Email newsletter signup

Several people have picked up packets of information about qualifying for the office of city clerk, Trosclair said.

Donnie Holloway, business manager for Natchez Ford Lincoln Mercury, also said he plans to run for the office.

Mayor Larry L. &uot;Butch&uot; Brown and the other current aldermen — George Harden, Ward 2; Sue Stedman, Ward 3; Theodore &uot;Bubber&uot; West, Ward 4; David Massey, Ward 5; and Jake Middleton, Ward 6 — also are likely to seek office again, although none has officially qualified.

Todd, who ran for Adams County tax assessor 11 years ago, said she is looking forward to running for office.

&uot;I like this office because it gives me a chance to serve the people,&uot; she said. &uot;It is a good way to serve the community.&uot;

The duties of the office include managing the city’s finances; keeping records of the ordinances and laws passed by the mayor and board of aldermen, as well as records of their actions and proceedings; issuing privilege licenses; and giving a monthly statement of money received by the office to the mayor and board.

The deadline for qualifying for any of the positions is 5 p.m. March 31. Candidates need to turn in a statement of intent and a $10 filing fee to the city clerk’s office.

The primary election will be May 2, with a runoff, if needed, scheduled for May 16.

The general election is June 6.