Haywood, Martin lead All-Metro boys team

Published 12:00 am Sunday, April 23, 2000

Natchez High senior forward/center David Haywood and Bulldog head coach Mike Martin lead The Natchez Democrat 1999-2000 All-Metro Boys Basketball Team.

Haywood, who averaged 23 points and 9.8 rebounds, is The Natchez Democrat Boys Player of the Year, while Martin is the Coach of the Year.

Haywood, who scored more than 1,500 points in his career, ranked among the top 5 in the Nike Showcase and will compete in the Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Game in June.

Email newsletter signup

Natchez finished the season 24-10, capturing the Division 6-5A Tournament championship and defeating Gulfport in a first round State State contest.

The Bulldogs fell to Biloxi by two points before falling to eventual state champion Harrison Central at the South State Tournament.

&uot;Of Natchez’s 34 games, 22 were against teams which advanced beyond district, including Murrah and Harrison Central, who played for the state championship, with Harrison Centrtal coming out on top.

&uot;We played a very tough schedule, and winning the division and beating Gulfport was a big highlight,&uot; Martin said. &uot;I thought we got better during the season. These kids were tested every night and I was pleased with their porgress.&uot;

Joining Haywood on the team is teammate Jamal Bouldin, a junior guard who averaged 14 points per game and six assists. He made 105 3-points and was named best free throw shooter and best defensive player on the Natchez High team.

Representing Trinity are senior guards Bobby Craig and Kris Thomson.

Craig averaged 21.73 points and hit 93 3-pointers. He made 69.32 percent of his free throws.

Thomson averaged 20.32 points a game and had 125 assists (9.63 per game) He also had 114 steals and made 29 3-pointers.

Senior forward Lanoxne Scott was named from Cathedral.

Scott averaged 14 points and 13 rebounds a game.

Named from Vidalia High were senior guard Ronald Ellis and junior center Jarvis Vaughn.

Ellis, who signed a basketball scholarship with Grambling, averaged 18.1 points a game and 11.5 rebounds. He made 49 percent of his 3-point shots.

Vaughn averaged 19.9 points per contest with 10.1 rebounds. He blocked 48 shots.

Ferriday High was represented by junior forward Jason Scott and senior Johnny Brooks.

Scott averaged 25 points per game and 10 rebounds, while Brooks averaged 10 points a game.

Among those chosen honorable mention are Natchez High senior Edwin Harris, sophomore Vasshon Newborne and junior Carl Minor.

Cathedral’s Zachary Robinson, Christopher Martin and Paul Barnett were also named honorable mention.

Honorable mentions from Trinity are senior John Bass and sophomore guard Chad Ridley.

Adams County Christian School is represented by junior guard Trey Mardis, Dusty Hall and seniors Hayden Wadsworth and Ryan Davis.

Vidalia senior guard Dariel Mays and junior forward Derrick Johnson were also honorable mentions.

Ferriday junior Derrick Williams also is an honorable mention.

Huntington is represented by Michael Foster.

Jefferson County’s Devin Thompson and Derrick Culbert and Kevin Clark were also cited.