Natchez riders take golds at state

Published 12:10 am Monday, June 21, 2010

MERIDIAN — Scott Kuppersmith and Lena Yarbrough of Natchez took home gold medals from the 2010 State Games of Mississippi Time Trials Sunday.

Kuppersmith’s time was 55:18 on the 24-mile course, leading him to the overall gold medal. Sean McElroy of Meridian won the silver with a time of 1:00:41, followed by Danny Cook of Biloxi with a bronze medal time of 1:00:50. More than 40 cyclists from across the state participated in the event just outside Meridian.

Kuppersmith also took the gold in the 30-39 age group, followed by Hattiesburg’s silver medalist Lance Ware with a time of 1:01:06 and Gene Hilpp with a time of 1:02:35.

Yarbrough took the gold in the female 30-39 age group. Her time was 1:09:46.

In the 15-18 age group, the gold medalist was Bryan Champine of Hattiesburg, coming in at 1:17:17. The 60-69 age group winner was John Jay White of Brandon with a time of 1:24:45.

Cole Andrews of Starkville took the gold in the 19-29 age group with a time of 1:03:28.

In the 40-49 age group, the gold medalist was Sean McElroy of Meridian with a time of 1:00:41.

Jim Quick of Meridian took home the gold in the 50-59 age group with a time of 1:05:37.

Jinx Campbell of Ocean Springs came in at 1:11:32 to take the gold in the female 40-49 age group.

The 19th annual State Games of Mississippi will include 29 sports spread over 17 counties. The games kicked off with the annual Olympic-style Opening Ceremonies sponsored by AT&T Mississippi on Friday at Dumont Plaza in Downtown Meridian.

The State Games of Mississippi is one of 39 states who are members of the National Congress of State Games and is affiliated with the U.S. Olympic Committee. The games attract more than 5,000 athletes.