• 70°

Qualifying ends for municipal elections in Concordia Parish

VIDALIA — Friday was the deadline for candidates in Ferriday, Vidalia and Clayton to qualify for 2020 municipal elections and the field is set.

Municipal races on the ballots include Vidalia, Ferriday and Clayton Mayor and Board of Aldermen, the Chief of Police for Vidalia and Clayton and Justice of the Peace in Ferriday.

The primary election is April 4, the general election is May 9 and early voting begins March 21, said Deanna Magoun, deputy clerk.

Below is a list of candidates who qualified to run for offices in Concordia Parish.

Presidential Nominee Democratic Party

Michael Bennet, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, “Pete” Buttigieg, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernard “Bernie” Sanders, “Tom” Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, “Robby” Wells and Andrew Yang.

Presidential Nominee Republican Party

Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, “Bob” Ely, Matthew John Matern, Donald J. Trump and Bill Weld.

Justice of the Peace Justice of the Peace District 1

Justin Conner, Democrat; Charles Gill Jr., no party, and Clifton Smith, Democrat.

Mayor Town of Clayton

Josephine Washington, Democrat, and Wilbert Washington, Independent.

Mayor Town of Ferriday

Gene Allen, Democrat; Glenn Henderson, Democrat; Sherrie Jacobs McMahon, Democrat; and Rydell Turner, Democrat.

Mayor Town of Vidalia

Hyram Copeland, Independent; and “Buz” Craft, Democrat.

Chief of Police Town of Clayton

Bobby L. Madison Sr., Democrat, is unopposed.

Chief of Police Town of Vidalia

Frank Duson Jr., Independent; Arthur K. Lewis, Democrat; “Joey” Merrill, Independent; and “Chris” Stricklin, no party.

Alderman District 1, Town of Vidalia

Rosa Irving Demby, Democrat; and Joseph “BoBo” McCoy, Democrat.

Alderman District 2, Town of Vidalia

Robert Lee Gardner Jr., Democrat; Raymond Murray, Republican; and “Jamie” Walsworth, Republican.

Alderman District A, Town of Ferriday

Brandi Bacon, Democrat; Wayne Roberts, Republican; and Shana “Pouncey” Skipper, Democrat.

Alderman District B, Town of Ferriday

Elijah “Stepper’s” Banks, Democrat; Margaret J. Glasper, Democrat; Devonte “Tay” Schiele, no party; and Ahren Williams, Democrat.

Alderman District C, Town of Ferriday

Sharon Denise “Shanice” Goodman, Democrat; Sandra “Gail” Pryor, Democrat; and Emma “PuPu” Skipper, Democrat.

Alderman District D, Town of Ferriday

Andre J. Keys, Democrat; Patricia “Martin” Williams, Democrat; and Johnnie “Rip” Woodruff, Democrat.

Alderman District E, Town of Ferriday

Essie Green, Democrat; Gloria J. Lloyd, Democrat; and David Turner, Independent.

Aldermen District 3, Town of Vidalia (three to be elected)

Jon Betts, Republican; Sabrina Doré, Republican; “Chris” King, Republican; “Tommy” Probst, Republican; and Brent Smith, Republican.

Aldermen Town of Clayton (five to be elected)

Willie L. “Bill” Evans, Democrat; Shannon Burns Madison, Democrat; and Carl R. Thompson Sr., Independent.