Louisiana residents vote today

Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 23, 1999

VIDALIA, La. – Today is election day in Louisiana, and almost every state and parish office is up for grabs.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. today.

&uot;We’re expecting a turnout of 60 to 70 percent, since it’s state and parish officials this time,&uot; said Golda Ensminger, Concordia Parish registrar of voters. &uot;Four years ago, we had more than 67 percent.&uot;

Email newsletter signup

Concordia Parish has 13,458 registered voters, 498 of which have voted absentee, Ensminger said.

A runoff election will be held Nov. 20.

Concordia residents will vote on two taxes today:&160;a renewal of a one-cent sales tax to support the parish’s public schools and a proposed 3/4-cent sales tax increase for the Town of Ferriday.

State Rep. Bryant Hammett will face off with Ferriday Councilman Sammy Davis Jr. for the Louisiana House of Representatives’ District 21 seat, which includes Concordia, Tensas and East Carroll parishes and part of Madison Parish.

State Sen. Noble Ellington will run against Larry Minton for the District 32 State Senate seat, while State Rep. Lelon Kenney faces farming activist Roger Beall for the District 20 representative’s seat.

Randy Maxwell, who has been Concordia Parish’s sheriff for eight years, is running against Constable George Sewell, longtime reserve officer Tony Joe Braley and the Rev. Justin Conner for sheriff.

Coroner Sarah Lee is running for reelection against Dr. Clifford Godley Jr., an internal medicine specialist in Concordia Parish.

Concordia Parish Police Jury races will include:

n Juror Carey Cook and Elijah Banks for the District 1, Place A seat.

n Incumbent Gene Allen versus Andy Anders for the position of District 1, Place B juror.

n A five-way race for District 2 juror: incumbent Fred Marsalis, Warren Dewayne Brown, Willie J. Dunbar, L.J. Robinson and Clarence Singleton.

n Ex-juror Randy E. Temple and &uot;Hoss&uot;&160;Davis for the District 3, Place A seat left vacant when 30-year Juror Fred Falkenheiner declined to run again due to health problems.

n Incumbent Charlie Blaney versus Curtis G. Nelson and Ed Smith for District 3, Place B juror.

n Juror Cathy Darden facing off against Tom Lowry for District 4, Place A.

n Melvin Ferrington, who represents District 4, Place B, running for reelection against Ferris Durham.

n Incumbent Rodney Smith and Jimmy Jernigan for the District 5, Place A position.

n Juror Tommy &uot;Red&uot; Tiffee running for the District 5, Place B seat versus Willie &uot;Bill&uot; Crane Jr.

Clerk of Court Clyde Ray Webber and Tax Assessor Monelle Moseley are running unopposed.