Vidalia, Ferriday fill All-District team

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 14, 1999

Parish rivals Vidalia High and Ferriday High dominated the 1999 All-District 3-2A Football Team after playing for the title in the final game of the year.

Vidalia High senior tailback Dariel Mays and Ferriday High senior linebacker Cedric Jefferson were named most valuable offensive and defensive players in the district, respectively.

Viking head coach Dee Faircloth was named coach of the year after leading his team to a 10-2 season and 4-0 in the district.

Email newsletter signup

&uot;We had a great bunch of kids,&uot; said Vidalia High head football coach Dee Faircloth. &uot;They did a great job all year long. This was probably one of the most enjoyable groups I’ve had to work with in 32 years and may have been the best ball club overall as far as offense and defense.&uot;

Representing Vidalia on the first team are Mays, senior wide receiver Chris Kennedy, senior offensive linemen Jason Jordan, Matthew Probst and Eddie Jester, junior quarterback Jarrett Hoffpauir, junior kicker Ryan Boles, senior linebackers Justin Seals and Leren Curry and senior punter Adam Probst.

Ferriday first-team players are junior wide receiver Lawrence Washington, senior quarterback Aron Thomas, junior running back Corey Gordon, junior defensive linemen Willie Glasper and Stnaley Smith and senior linebacker Cedric Jefferson.

Named to the second team for Vidalia were senior offensive lineman Troy Rush and junior lineman Travis McElwee, senior running back Rod Donald, Boles at defensive end, senior defensive end Jeffrey Puckett, junior linebacker Jim Bob Hancock and Probst and senior Leslie Small at defensive back.

Ferriday second-teamers are junior wide receiver Nathaniel Smith, sophomore offensive lineman Derrick Minor, junior offensive lineman Dayton Davis, freshman place kicker Brennan Smith, senior defensive lineman Marcus Washington, junior linebacker Carlton Curvin and junior defensive back Fred Jones.

Block first team players are senior tight end Vic Fisher, senior offensive lineman Steve Ford and senior defensive back Jonathan Anderson.

Named to the second team for Block was senior wide receiver Jason Fisher, junior quarterback Toby Wilson and sophomore defensive back Charles Branch.

Honorable mention – Vidalia: Andre Singleton, Brandon Smith, Kevin Laird, Trey Rouse, Roy Rushing, Terrell Williams, Jeremy Rowzee, Sam Morse. Ferriday: Marion Harbor, Shermaine Hawkins, Robert Taylor, Akeem Evans, Jimaal Powell, Paul Schiele, Justin Snyder. Block: Cliff Wilson, Fred Hatten.