Centreville paces All-Area squad

Published 12:00 am Saturday, December 25, 1999

There’s no surprise that two-time MPSA&160;3A state champion Centreville Academy is well represented on The Natchez Democrat 1999 All-Area Football Team.

But upstart Pine Hills Academy made quite an impact after winning 10 games and advancing to the second round of the MPSA Class A playoffs.

Pine Hills head coach Tony Johnson and Centreville Academy senior running back Matthew Tolbert are The 1999 Natchez Democrat Area Coach and Player of the Year, respectively.

Email newsletter signup

Tolbert carried the ball 326 times for 2,561 yards, averaging 7.9 yards a rush.

Joining Tolbert in the backfield is the Wilkinson County High senior duo of William Mealey and Lionel Gauldin.

Mealey had 1,451 yards on the ground, while Gaulden rushed for 1,437 yards.

At quarterback is Pine Hills junior Jonathan Honea, who completed 68 of 124 passes for 1,400 yards and 12 touchdowns.

The first team offensive line consists of Wilkinson County senior Maurice Spencer, Centreville senior David Hughes, Pine Hills senior David Dickinson, Franklin County juniors Brandon Touchstone and Josh O’Neal.

At wide receiver, Pine Hills junior Jeff Whittington caught 27 passes for 760 yards and nine touchdowns.

The tight end is Block senior Vic Fisher.

On defense, the front line consists of Centreville seniors Rob Robertson and Rich Newman, Wilkinson County senior Marcus Jackson, Wilkinson County Christian Academy senior Clint Flowers and Chamberlain-Hunt Academy freshman Jerry Lee Messer.

Robertson, who committed to Ole Miss before the season, had 85 tackles, despite missing four games.

Anders totaled 97 tackles, 87 of which were solo stops. He also had nine sacks and four fumble recoveries.

Flowers had 75 tackles, nine sacks and three tackles for losses.

Messer totaled 91 tackles, 44 of which were solo stops.

Newman totaled 70 tackles.

Jackson paced one of the state’s top defenses with 60 tackles.

See All-Area, 2B

The All-Area first team linebackers are Centreville senior Jamey Norsworthy, WCCA sophomore Brandon Farrar, Chamberlain-Hunt sophomore Sam McLemore and Wilkinson County junior Mark Frederick.

Norsworthy totaled 101 tackles to lead the Tigers.

McLemore was the top tackler for CHA with 167 stops, 89 of which were solo. He also had two sacks.

Farrar collected 108 tackles and had three sacks.

The defensive backs are Pine Hills senior Shane Lofton, Chamberlain-Hunt junior Jordan Hammond and Centreville senior Justin Simpson.

Lofton had 71 solo tackles and 12 sacks, He also had eight interception and two fumble recoveries.

Hammond totaled 49 tackles, 29 of which were solo. He added four interceptions.

Simpson had 44 tackles and three interceptions.

The punter is Franklin County senior James Conley, who had 35 punts for a 33.7 average.

Centerville junior Ben Havard is the kicker after totaling 46 points.

The second team All-Area quarterback is Centreville sophomore John Vincent.

The second team backfield has Pine Hills junior Chris Guidry and CHA junior Mathew Burrell.

On the offensive line is Wilkinson County senior Anthony Washington, Pine Hills senior Jon Anders,&160;Block senior Steve Ford, Franklin County junior Greg Williams, Centreville senior Jarred Webb and Wilkinson County junior Charles Brown.

The second team receiver is Franklin County junior Wesley Hickingbottom.

The front defensive line consists of Franklin County junior Jharad Faust, Chris Ellis of Pine Hills, Centreville senior Kyle Flint and CHA&160;sophomore T. C. Clayton.

Linebackers are Franklin County junior Wade Woodcock, Centreville junior B.J. Robertson and Pine Hills seniors Jason Wallace and Chad Covey. In the defensive backfield are Wilkinson County senior Tavoris Carter, Block senior Jonathan Anderson, WCCA&160;senior Rusty Kleinpeter and Franklin County senior Marcus Briggs.