Voters to choose city’s next mayor today

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 6, 2000

Natchez voters will choose the city’s mayor today as polls open for the general election.

Independent candidate Robert F. Costa has his first chance on the ballot, while Democratic nominee F.L. &uot;Hank&uot; Smith tries to win another election. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.

Smith was one of the top two vote-getters in the May 2 Democratic primary, then went on to beat incumbent Larry L. &uot;Butch&uot; Brown in the primary runoff.

Email newsletter signup

Costa and Smith have taken somewhat different approaches to their campaigns in the last few weeks. Smith has continued door-to-door visits with potential voters as well as signs throughout town, while Costa has relied on local media to help spread his message.

Costa and Smith are the only two candidates in a contested race on today’s ballot.

Democratic city clerk nominee Donnie Holloway was to have faced JoeAnne Hicks for that office, but Hicks dropped out of the race two weeks ago.

All of the races for aldermen were decided by the first Democratic primary.

City precincts are:

— Ward 1: Council chambers, 115 S. Pearl St.

— Ward 2: Frazier School, 1445 George F. West Blvd.

— Ward 3: Fire station, 467 John R. Junkin Drive.

— Ward 4: Union hall, 410 Gayosa Ave.

— Ward 5: National Guard Armory, 329 Liberty Road.

— Ward 6: Duncan Park Canteen, Duncan Park Road.

If you are unsure which precinct you should vote in, call the city clerk’s office at 445-7500.

The city’s new administration takes office July 1.

Other than the new mayor and Holloway, who takes the place of retiring city clerk Frances Trosclair, the only new city official will be Ward 2 alderman James &uot;Ricky&uot; Gray.