One shot decides fun tourney

Published 12:00 am Friday, March 23, 2001

The team of Billy Beckham, Rick Salter, Bill McKenzie and Archie Willet fired a round of 18-under-par 54 to win the Natchez Chamber of Commerce’s 8th Annual Fun Golf Scramble by one shot Thursday at Beau Pr\u00E9 Country Club.

The tourney, unlike many golf events, fits the official title as the course is laiden with trick holes.

Salter sank a 20-foot putt for eagle on the 18th hole to give his team the win. He also won for having the men’s longest drive on the very same hole.

Email newsletter signup

&uot;It was a lot of fun,&uot; McKenzie said. &uot;We made two eagles (the other was a chip in on the 14th hole). A lot of things go to Billy Beckham. He put this team together.&uot;

In addition to the two eagles, the winning team had an astounding 14 birdies and only two pars.

Chris Hutchins, Samuel Porter, Paul Sparks and Adrian Stallone finished in second place with a 17-under-par 55.

&uot;Sammy Porter hit some good 9-iron shots,&uot; Sparks said. &uot;And Adrian can putt good with that 5-iron. Chris Hutchins and I were along for the ride.&uot;

The team of Ronnie Dawson, Jason Dillon, Ricky Maier and Dan Scruggs beat two other teams – the team of Mark Carter, Jim Crawford, Dan Bland and Butch Metcalf and the team of Mike Cook, Ed Daly, Blane Mire and Mike Winter – in a scorecard playoff for third place as all three teams shot rounds of 16-under-par 56. &uot;It was all Dan Bland,&uot; Metcalf said. &uot;Blame it on Dan.&uot;

Two teams tied for sixth with a score of 15-under-par 57 – the team of Gary Farmer, Bill Hurt, Robert Savant and Cookie Savant and the team of Allen Kent, Dean Ronnie Nettles, Billy Stewart and Walt Wilson.

&uot;We just played a good solid round,&uot; Savant said. &uot;We should’ve made a couple of more putts.&uot;

Cathy Hinson won three individual awards – closest to the hole on holes number 7 and 13 (ladies) and the longest drive on the 18th hole (ladies). Pat Hinson won two individual awards – longest putt on the 1st hole and closest to the hole on the 13th hole (men). Samuel Porter won for closest to the hole on the 7th hole (men). William Piper won for closes to the hole on the 16th hole (men). Chuck Fields won for closest ball to the line on the 17th hole.