Five people running for District 5 supervisor

Published 12:00 am Monday, March 3, 2003

WOODVILLE &045; Qualifying for the fall elections ended Saturday, with 10 Wilkinson County offices up for grabs and six incumbents unopposed for re-election, according to records in the circuit clerk’s office.

The most contested race may be for fifth district supervisor, where incumbent Democrat William G. Johnson faces four challengers:

Democrats Jennings &uot;Jenn&uot; Nettles and W. J. &uot;Billy&uot; Pratt, and Independents John K. Carr and Curtis L. McFarland. Elsewhere, four Democratic candidates, Jessie B. Perry, Jr., Frederick W. Anderson, Marketta Clark and &uot;Chilly&uot; Willie Thompson are vying for the western district constable seat vacated by incumbent Ronnie Fisher.

Email newsletter signup

Fisher qualified as an Independent to run for fourth district supervisor against incumbent Robert E. Morgan and Wally Cavin, both Democrats.

In the sheriff’s race,

Democratic incumbent Reginald &uot;Pip&uot; Jackson faces opposition from Democrat Jennings McCurley and Independent Calvin Gaines.

Three candidates qualified to run for superintendent of education, including Democratic incumbent Mildred E. McGhee, Democrat Dave Carter and Independent Michael Davis.

Primary elections are scheduled for Aug. 5 and Aug. 26. The general election will be held Nov. 4.

Candidates in other races include:

First District Supervisor:

Mack Adam Haynes (incumbent-D) and Louis Gaulden (D).

Second District Supervisor: Kirk Smith (incumbent-D) and Richard L. Hollins (D).

Third District Supervisor:

Jack R. &uot;Buck&uot; Darden (incumbent-D) and Frank Boss (D).

Eastern District Constable: Julia Leake Wells (incumbent-D) and Jessie W. Stewart (D).


Travis Sharp (incumbent-D) and L. C. Clark (D).

Chancery Clerk:

Thomas C

&uot;Mr. T&uot; Tolliver (incumbent-D).

Tax Assessor:


&uot;Cookie&uot; James (incumbent-D).

Circuit Clerk:

Mon Cree Allen (incumbent-D).

Western District Justice Court Judge:

Robert Lee Ward (incumbent-D).

Eastern District Justice Court Judge:

Ernest H. &uot;Ernie&uot; Smith (incumbent-D).

County Prosecutor:

Holmes Sturgeon (incumbent-D).