Slate of candidates finalized

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 4, 2003

VIDALIA &045;&045; Thursday was the last day of qualifying for elections in Louisiana &045;&045; and when the dust settled, two police jury incumbents had not signed up to run for re-election.

Gene Allen, incumbent in District 1, Place B for police juror, was one of those who did not put in a bid for re-election. Five candidates will vie for that seat, four of which

&045;&045; Joe Parker, Marc Robson, Barbara Rutland and Lynwood Wiley &045;&045; will face off in the Democratic primary on Oct. 4. The winner will face Robert L. Knoten, an independent, in November.

Email newsletter signup

Charlie Blaney will not run for re-election for police juror in District 3, Place B.

Six candidates are running for that seat. Three Democrats &045;&045; Ronnie Cox, Donald Manchester and Frank Webb &045;&045; and two Republicans &045;&045; Tanya Smith Richardson and Whest Shirley &045;&045; will run in their respective primaries in October.

Those winners will face one another and John C. &uot;Sparky&uot; Evans, independent, in November.

One police juror, incumbent Carey H. Cook, Democrat, is unopposed in District 1, Place A.

All other qualifiers:

4 32nd Senatorial District: Incumbent Noble Ellington, Democrat and James &uot;Jim&uot; Hearns, Democrat.

4 34th Senatorial District: Incumbent Charles D. Jones, Democrat.

4 21st Representative District: Incumbent Bryant O. Hammett Jr., Democrat.

4 Sheriff: Glenn Lipsey, Republican; Incumbent Randy Maxwell, Democrat and Jim Whittington, Democrat.

4 Clerk of Court: Incumbent Clyde Ray Webber Jr., Republican.

4 Assessor: Incumbent Monelle M. Moseley, Democrat.

4 Coroner: Incumbent Sarah Lee, Other.

4 Police Juror, District 2: Robert Douglas, Democrat; Incumbent Willie James Dunbar, Democrat; Fred Marsalis, Democrat; and Carter Warner, Democrat.

4 Police Juror, District 3, Place A: Cynthia &uot;Cyndie&uot; Dillon, independent; and Incumbent Randy E. Temple, Democrat.

4 Police Juror, District 4, Place A:

Jerry Beatty, Democrat; Incumbent Cathy Darden, Democrat and Deberah &uot;Debbie&uot; Ezell, Democrat.

4 Police Juror, District 4, Place B: Ronald W. Barnhill, Democrat; Incumbent Melvin Ferrington, Democrat and Somer Lewis Lance, Democrat.

4 Police Juror, District 5A: Don Glynn, Democrat; Jimmy Jernigan, Democrat; Carolyn Magoun, Republican and Incumbent Rodney Smith.

4 Police Juror, District 5B: Cora Jean Reese, Democrat and Incumbent Tommy &uot;Red&uot; Tiffee.