New officials to be sworn in soon

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 17, 2003

Newly elected officials, and those that won re-election, will take office soon, but some before others.

In Adams County, all 16 officials &045;&045; board of supervisors, sheriff, chancery clerk, circuit clerk, district attorney, county prosecuting attorney, constables, justice court judges, coroner, tax collector and tax assessor &045;&045; will be sworn at 10 a.m. Dec. 30 in Chancery Court. The event is open to the public.

In Concordia Parish, the sheriff, police jurors, coroner and clerk of court will all take office in 2004 but their beginning dates are scattered throughout the year. Tax Assessor Monelle M. Moseley will start her new term Jan. 1, 2005. And, unlike Adams County, all of these officials will be sworn in at separate times, according to Clerk of Court Clyde Ray Webber with about a 10-day leeway period before or after their term begins, he said.

Email newsletter signup

&uot;They’ll chose what time they want to be sworn in,&uot; Webber said, adding taking the oath of office is really a &uot;formality&uot; unless the person is a newly elected official.

Although Louisiana state officials such as governor, senators and representatives will be sworn in Jan. 12.

According to law, the new Adams County officials take office on the first Monday of the year, this year that falls on Jan. 5.

Adams County Chancery Clerk Thomas O’Beirne said all officials, newly elected and re-elected, will be sworn in Dec. 30 so they can begin their duties Jan. 5. Then, &uot;… they are ready to go,&uot; O’Beirne said.

In fact, the new Board of Supervisors will meet for the first time on the first day of the new term, Jan. 5.

In Adams County, the officials that start their terms Jan. 5 are:

Supervisors &045;&045; District 1, Sammy Cauthen; District 2, Henry Watts; District 3, Thomas &uot;Boo&uot; Campbell; District 4, Darryl Grennell; District 5, S.E. &uot;Spanky&uot; Felter.

4Sheriff Ronny Brown.


Circuit Clerk M.L. &uot;Binkey&uot; Vines.

Justice Court Judges Mary Lee Toles and Charles Vess.

Constables Ray Brown and Randy Freeman.

Coroner James Lee.

Tax Collector Vernona Sanders.

Tax Assessor Reynolds Atkins.

District Attorney Ronnie Harper.

County Prosecuting Attorney Barret Martin.

In Concordia Parish, Police Jury Secretary Russell Wagoner said new jurors will be sworn in at their first meeting of the year, Jan. 12.

Clerk of Court Clyde Ray Webber will mediate the meeting for the swearing in and then the nomination and election of officers &045;&045; president and vice president.

&uot;Once he swears them in … they’ll take off with their meeting,&uot; Wagoner said. &uot;The new president will take over from there.&uot;

Wagoner and jury Treasurer Hazel Dickson expect to be reappointed to their positions for two-year terms.

The board welcomes three new members to the nine-person jury.

The new jurors are: District 1, Place A, Carey H. Cook; District 1, Place B, Joe Parker; District 2, Willie Dunbar; District 3, Place A, Randy Temple; District 3, Place B, Whest Shirley; District 4, Place A, Cathy Darden; District 4, Place B, Melvin Ferrington; District 5A, Jimmy Jernigan; and District 5B, Tommy &uot;Red&uot; Tiffee.

The Concordia Parish Sheriff Randy Maxwell and Clerk of Court Webber will start their new terms July 1.

Coroner Sarah Lee will start her new term March 22.