Nearly 30 qualify for parish municipal races

Published 12:01 am Thursday, December 13, 2007

VIDALIA — Twenty-seven candidates submitted their names for consideration in a number of Concordia Parish’s municipal races during the first day of qualifying Wednesday.

Positions slotted for election are mayor and aldermen for the towns of Clayton, Ferriday and Vidalia and chief of police for Clayton and Vidalia.

Also to be elected are Democratic and Republican parish and state committee members.

Email newsletter signup

Qualifying fees for Republican and Democratic candidates in the municipal races are $80, and those running independently or third-party have a fee of $40, Concordia Parish Deputy Clerk of Court Lynda Tate said.

Fees for the Democrat or Republican committee positions at the parish and state level are $112.50.

Those who qualified Wednesday include:

4For Clayton mayor: Rydell Turner and Wilbert M. Washington.

4For Ferriday mayor: Gene Allen, Justin Conner, Glen McGlothin, Alex Promise and Wanda Ann Baker Smith

4For Vidalia mayor: Hyram Copeland and William “Bill” Murray.

4For Vidalia Chief of Police: Billy Hammers, Ronnie G. “Tapper” Hendricks and “Ricky” Williams.

4For Ferriday alderman District A: Gloria Curry Gross.

4For Ferriday alderman District C: Jerome Harris.

4For Ferriday alderman District D: Johnnie Brown.

4For Ferriday alderman District E: Gloria Lloyd.

4For Vidalia alderman District 2: Vernon Stevens.

4For Vidalia alderman District 3: Jon D. Betts, Richard S. “Ricky” Knapp, “Kathy” Nunnery and Maureen “Mo” Saunders.

District 3 is an “at large district,” which means voters may choose more than one candidate.

“The voters choose three from the field of however many candidates are running,” Knapp, an incumbent, said.

Betts and Saunders are also incumbents in the district.

4For Clayton alderman: Floyd Barber and “Sandy” Clayton.

4For Republican State Central Committee District 21 Sub-district B representative: Steve Fleming.

4For Democratic Parish Executive Committee District 1 Place A: Justin Conner

4For Democratic Parish Executive Committee District 2: Raymond T. Riley Sr.

4For Democratic Parish Executive Committee District 3 Place B: Don Tate.