Sec. of State sets primary ballots

Published 12:01 am Saturday, December 15, 2007

JACKSON (AP) — Secretary of State Eric Clark has set the ballots for the March 11 presidential primary elections.

State law requires the secretary of state to include the names of ‘‘generally recognized’’ major party candidates by Dec. 15 prior to the presidential primaries, a news release from Clark’s office said. Democrats and Republicans not placed on the ballot may qualify for the primary by ballot petition.

Third parties do not conduct primaries in Missisippi.

Email newsletter signup

The eight Democratic candidates will be Joseph Biden, Hillary Clinton, Chris Dodd, John Edwards, Mike Gravel, Dennis Kucinich, Barack Obama, and Bill Richardson.

The Republican ballot will include Rudy Giuliani, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, Alan Keyes, John McCain, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo, and Fred Thompson.

The parties will use results from the primaries to choose delegates to the national nominating conventions next summer.