Trinity, ACCS players honored

Published 12:43 am Thursday, May 8, 2008

NATCHEZ — Eleven local athletes were honored for a great baseball season by the coaches of MPSA District 3-AA.

Six Trinity players and five Adams Christian players were named to the All-District Team, with Trinity’s Matthew Freeman being named Most Valuable Player and Saints coach Matt Mason being named Coach of the Year.

Mason led the Saints to the district championship in their first season in Class AA. The Saints blew away the field in district competition, finishing the season with a 10-1 district record.

Email newsletter signup

In addition to Freeman, Trinity seniors Brian Sanderson, Matt Barnes, Clint Easom and Parker Brumfield were named to the All-District Team as well as freshman Kent King.

ACCS had the second-most players on the team, with five Rebel players being honored.

The Rebels finished second in the district with a 7-5 district record.

Seniors Luke Brumfield and Dustin Carroll were named to the team as well as junior T.J. Johnson, sophomore Colin Dollar and eighth grader Chris Perry.

The other players named to the All-District Team were Colby Gilbert, Robby Jones and Allen Spires from Prairie View Academy; Haven Johnson, John Rockett and Drew Rogers from River Oaks; and Logan Moore and Kyle King from Riverfield Academy.