05-21-09 Looking back

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 21, 2009

TWENTY YEARS AGO — Mark Phillips has an RBI double and Kelly Baucom adds a two-run single as Lamar Foundation High jumps out to a 6-0 lead, then holds on to defeat Trinity 6-4 to take the Class A South State title.

TEN YEARS AGO — Kurt Ainsworth gives up just three hits in seven inning and Ryan Theriot has four runs batted in as the LSU Tigers stay alive in the SEC Tournament with a 10-0 win over Kentucky.

FIVE YEARS AGO — JoJo Tann goes 2-for-3 and scores three runs while Tait Hendrix has a two-run double during a five-run first inning as Jackson Prep defeats ACCS 8-3 to win the MPSA Class AAA State Championship.

Email newsletter signup