LSU, Ole Miss, USM headed to NCAA tourney

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 1, 2010

BATON ROUGE (AP) — NCAA tournament berths have been announced and defending national champion LSU (40-20) will play UC Irvine in the first round of the Los Angeles regional, hosted by UCLA, on Friday.

Ole Miss (38-22) meets St. Johns on Friday at the NCAA tournament regional at Charlottsville, Va.

Southern Mississippi (35-22) also plays Friday at the Auburn Regional against Clemson.

Email newsletter signup

The Atlantic Coast Conference, Pac-10 and Southeastern Conference each had eight teams selected by the NCAA baseball committee on Sunday for the field of 64. The Big 12 was next with five teams in the tournament.

The national top eight seeds are Arizona St. (47-8), Texas (46-11), Florida (42-15), Coastal Carolina (51-7), Virginia (47-11), UCLA (43-13), Louisville (48-12) and Georgia Tech (45-13).

Twenty-nine of the 64 teams were not in the field last year. Mercer, the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament champion, is making the championship for the first time.

New Mexico last was in the field in 1962 and Oregon is in the field for the first time since 1964, and only two years after reinstating the baseball program.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 38th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 33rd straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (19), Rice (16), Oral Roberts (13) and Texas (12).

Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Coastal Carolina has the most Division I wins with 51.

Twenty-seven other teams won at least 40 Division I contests, and all of which except Liberty, Southeastern La., Utah Valley and Wichita State are in the field.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format.

The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7 (if necessary).

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 7 at approximately 10 a.m.

The 64th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.