08-02-10 Looking back

Published 12:00 am Monday, August 2, 2010

TWENTY YEARS AGO — After weeks of negotiations, Arkansas will leave the Southwest Conference to join the SEC and LSU alumni such as Fred Falkenheiner and Charles Byrnes are excited about the move.

TEN YEARS AGO — Corey Walker strikes out 13 batters as the Natchez Dixie Youth 11-12-year-old All-Stars defeat Clarksdale 8-1, leaving Natchez as the only undefeated team at the state tournament.

FIVE YEARS AGO — Thanks to a birdie on No. 18, the fourth playoff hole, Kurt Russ and Trampus Butler defeat Clay Arnold and Greg Brooking to win the Beau Pré Member-Guest Golf Tournament.

Email newsletter signup