FSA election ballots set

Published 12:30 am Monday, August 9, 2010

NATCHEZ — The nominations are in and now it’s time for farmers and landowners to get to know the nominees for the Farm Service Agency’s county committee for administrative area No. 3.

Those nominated include Kenny Carlton, Joe Merrick and Mary Ditzler, the incumbent for the administrative area and the current committee vice-chair.

Merrick currently serves as advisor to the county committee.

Email newsletter signup

“The county (commissioners are) the board who basically administers the farm programs, the conservation programs and the disaster programs through the FSA office,” Adams County FSA Director Stacy McKay said.

The committee is composed of local producers and landowners, and in addition to helping deliver the farm programs to Adams County, they have the responsibility of hiring office staff and a director.

The committee also makes a recommendation to the state FSA office about who will serve as the advisor to the commissioners.

Nominations for committee came from local producers and others who have a stake in agriculture in Adams County.

Committee members serve three-year terms, and elections are staggered so only one administrative area is up for election every year.

Those who can vote in county committee elections include those who can legally vote and have an interest in a farm as in individual or as an authorized representative of a farming entity, or those who participate in a Farm Service Agency program as provided for by law.

Ballots in the election will be mailed out by Nov. 5 and be due back by Dec. 6, McKay said.

The members of the county committee whose seats are not up for election are Noble Guedon and Jackie Sojourner.