County election ballot starting to fill up

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 12, 2011

NATCHEZ — Prospective candidates have less than three weeks to get their names on a ballot in this year’s Adams County elections.

As of Friday, two incumbents running in this year’s local election have challengers running against them — District 5 Supervisor S.E. “Spanky” Felter and Circuit Clerk Edward C. “Eddie” Walker.

In addition, three residents have qualified for an empty supervisor seat in District 3. Thomas “Boo” Campbell has not submitted qualifying papers and has said publicly he will not seek re-election, leaving the spot up for grabs.

Email newsletter signup

Moe LeBlanc and Calvin “Jyrodd Buford” Butler have qualified to run against Felter for the District 5 seat.

Britt Gibson will run against Walker for circuit clerk.

Candidates who qualified for Thomas’s empty seat in District 3 include Raythell P. Smith, Wilbert Whittley and Angela Gibson Hutchins.

Every other incumbent has qualified for this year’s upcoming race except Ray Brown for constable in the northern district.

Other so-far unchallenged incumbents who have qualified include:

• Darryl V. Grennell for District 4 supervisor;

• Henry Watts for District 2 supervisor;

• Charles Michael “Mike” Lazarus for District 1 supervisor;

• Tommy J. O’Beirne for chancery clerk;

•Charles R. “Chuck” Mayfield for Adams County sheriff;

• Charles L. “Charlie” Vess for Justice Court judge;

• Patricia F. Dunmore for justice court judge;

• James E. Lee for Adams County coroner;

• Reynolds L. Atkins for Adams County tax assessor;

• Peter Burns Jr. for tax collector;

• Randy Freeman for southern district constable;

• Barret Martin for Adams County attorney.

The seat for constable in the northern district was empty as of Friday. Ray Brown currently holds the position.

The qualifying deadline is March 1, Walker said.

Walker said the first primary election will be Aug. 2, the primary runoff election will be Aug. 23 and the general election is set for Nov. 8.