Nine offices up for grabs in Adams County election

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 2, 2011

NATCHEZ — Nine Adams County offices will be contested in the 2011 general election.

The qualification period for the Nov. 8 general election ended at 5 p.m. Tuesday, with a bit of an audience eyeing the clock.

Two of the candidates anxiously ticking off the minutes got the news they wanted — Adams County Sheriff Chuck Mayfield and District 4 Supervisor Darryl Grennell are unopposed.

Email newsletter signup

The four remaining supervisor seats are up for grabs with several contenders.

The District 5 Supervisor seat currently held by S.E. “Spanky” Felter is the most crowded, with four names on the ballot.

Three candidates qualified for District 3 Supervisor, the only office without an incumbent in the election after Thomas “Boo” Campbell decided to not run for re-election.

And two men will challenge incumbent Mike Lazarus in District 1.

Contested races are:

– Chancery Clerk — Incumbent Thomas J. O’Beirne, Democrat; Willie B. Jones, Democrat; Woodrow W. “Woody” Allen Jr., Democrat

– Circuit Clerk — Incumbent Edward C. “Eddie” Walker, Democrat; Britt Gibson, Democrat; Jennifer “Lady J” Minor, Democrat

– Coroner — Incumbent James Lee, Democrat; Bill R. Hinson, Democrat

– District 1 Supervisor — Incumbent Charles Michael “Mike” Lazarus, Democrat; Robert “Bobby” W. Braswell, Democrat; Derrick Batteste, Democrat

– District 2 Supervisor — Incumbent Henry Watts, Democrat; David Carter, Independent

– District 3 Supervisor — Angela Gibson Hutchins, Democrat; Raythell P. Smith, Democrat; Wilbert Whittley, Democrat

– District 5 Supervisor — Incumbent S.E. “Spanky” Felter, Democrat; Calvin “Jyrodd Buford” Butler, Democrat; Moe LeBlanc, Democrat; Grady B. Wilson, Republican

– Justice Court Judge Southern District — Incumbent Charles L. “Charlie” Vess, Democrat; Gary Mullins, Democrat

– Constable Northern District — Incumbent Ray Brown, Democrat; Kendrick “Kimbo” Lewis, Democrat; Daryl Walker, Democrat; Murray L. Warnock Sr., Democrat

The candidates running unopposed in this year’s elections include:

– Sheriff — Incumbent Charles R. “Chuck” Mayfield, Democrat

– Tax assessor — Incumbent Reynolds L. Atkins, Democrat

– Tax collector — Incumbent Peter Burns Jr., Democrat

– County attorney — Incumbent Barret Martin, Democrat

– District 4 Supervisor — Incumbent Darryl V. Grennell, Democrat

– Justice Court Judge Northern District — Incumbent Patricia F. Dunmore, Democrat

– Constable Southern District — Incumbent Randy Freeman

The first primary election will be Aug. 2, the primary runoff election will be Aug. 23 and the general election is set for Nov. 8.