Dixie Youth All-Star selections announced

Published 12:01 am Wednesday, June 15, 2011

NATCHEZ — Natchez Dixie Youth has its 9- and 10-year-old AAA All-Star team assembled, and preparations for the all-star season begin today at 5:30 p.m.

This year’s team is: Marcus Hooker Jr., Andrew Merriett, Gauge Thomas, Ben Foster, Dylan Troxler, Sawyer Allen, Paul Hargrave Jr., Tyler Lindsey, Alex McCready, Ben White, Ja’kel Barnes and Conner Murray.

The coaches are David Lindsey, John McCready and Matt McDonald.

Email newsletter signup

The team will meet today at 5:30 p.m. at Ballew-Bowlin Field at Duncan Park.

Players should come prepared to practice, and at least one parent of each child must attend the meeting, league director Porky Smith said.

The 11- and 12-year-old All-Stars were also announced. For the Natchez 11s, Marshall Edmonds, Rudy Nugent, Cole Switzer, Dee Batieste, Josh Day, Josh Hargon Jr., Shavam Patel, Christopher Scott, Andrew Porter, D.A. Washington, Joe Adams and Dré Melton made the cut. Cole Brown, Ryan Rachal and Josh Hargon Sr. will coach the 11s.

For the 12s, Gage Dossett, Brock Farmer, Jace Calcote, Christian Day, Gabe Smith, Zach Flattman, Cole Mosby, Cooper Murray, Dalvion Jackson, Sam Parker, Phillip Roberts and Reed White made the team. Fred Parker, Gary Farmer and Alan Dossett will be coaches.

The 11 and 12s are to report to Carroll-Jones Field today for their first practices. The 11s will begin at 5:30 p.m. and the 12s at 7:30 p.m. There is also a mandatory meeting at 7:15 p.m. Thursday for players and parents of both teams. Parents are required to attend, and to bring a copy of their child’s birth certificate.