Absentee voting ongoing

Published 12:06 am Thursday, October 27, 2011

By Emily lane

The Natchez Democrat

NATCHEZ — Circuit Clerk Eddie Walker wants parents of college students to remind their children to drop their civic duty into the closest mailbox on campus.

Email newsletter signup

Absentee voting has been ongoing for approximately a month, and college students, residents with disabilities or those who will be out of town Nov. 8 have two weeks to cast a ballot via U.S. mail or at the circuit clerk’s office.

Walker’s office at the Adams County Courthouse will be during regular hours and from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday and 8 a.m. to noon next

Saturday, Nov. 5., for walk-in absentee voting.

As of Wednesday afternoon, the clerk’s office had sent out 318 ballots and received 211, said Jacqulyn Williams, a deputy circuit clerk who handles absentee voting.

Every voter in Mississippi has a chance to make a pick in nine statewide contested races and vote on three ballot initiatives, which have potential to change the state constitution.

Residents in District 2 and District 5 will also be choosing their Adams County supervisor.

In the local race for District 2 supervisor, David Carter, an Independent, will face Incumbent Henry Watts, a Democrat.

In District 5, Calvin “Jyrodd Buford” Butler, a Democrat, will face Grady B. “Cookie” Wilson, a Republican.

Voters in senate District 37 will also be choosing a senator at the polls between Incumbent Bob Dearing, a Democrat, and Melanie Sojourner, a Republican.

Statewide contested races include the following:

– Governor — Phil Bryant, Republican; and Johnny L. Dupree, Democrat.

– Lieutenant governor — Tate Reeves, Republican; and Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill, Reform Party.

– Attorney General — Incumbent Jim Hood, Democrat; and Steve Simpson, Republican.

– State auditor — Incumbent Stacey E. Pickering, Republican; and Ashley Norwood, Reform Party.

– State treasurer — Lynn Fitch, Republican; Connie Moran, Democrat; and Shawn O’Hara, Reform Party.

– Commissioner of agriculture and commerce — Joel Gill, Democrat; Cindy Hyde-Smith, Republican; and Cathy L. Toole, Reform Party.

– Insurance commissioner — Incumbent Mike Chaney, Republican; Louis Fondren, Democrat; and Barbara Dale Washer, Reform Party.

– Public Service Commissioner, southern district — Incumbent Leonard Bentz, Republican; and Mike Collier, Democrat.

– Transportation commissioner, southern district — Larry L. Albritton, Democrat; and Tom King, Republican.

The three initiatives appearing on the Nov. 8 ballot address a requirement of voter identification, the definition of when life begins and government’s right to seize private property for non-public use.

Voters can qualify for absentee voting if they cannot be in town on Election Day, are older than 65 or if they are permanently or temporarily physically disabled.

Only those absentee ballots cast at the circuit clerk’s office or delivered by U.S. mail to the circuit clerk’s office by 5 p.m. Nov. 7 will be counted.

Further instructions and application requests for absentee voting can be answered at the Adams County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-446-6326.