Obama issues emergency declaration for Miss.

Published 1:35 pm Tuesday, August 28, 2012

JACKSON (AP) — President Obama has issued an emergency declaration for areas of Mississippi under threat of rain and high winds from Hurricane Isaac.

The declaration frees up federal resources to help state and local agencies in dealing with the storm and its aftermath. It makes federal support available to save lives, protect public health and safety and preserve property in coastal areas.

The declaration, issued Wednesday, affects 29 counties in central south Mississippi.

Email newsletter signup

Those counties are Amite, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, Wilkinson and Yazoo.

The president declared a state of emergency in Louisiana late Monday.