James “Red” Mayo

Published 12:01 am Monday, July 8, 2013

Oct. 23, 1941 — July 6, 2013

NATCHEZ — Funeral services for James “Red” Mayo, 71, of Natchez, who died Saturday, July 6, 2013 at University Medical Center in Jackson, will be 11 a.m. Tuesday at Jefferson Street United Methodist Church with the Rev. John Kramer officiating.

Burial will follow at the Natchez City Cemetery under the direction of Laird Funeral Home.

Email newsletter signup

Visitation will be 5 to 7 p.m. today at Laird Funeral Home and 10 a.m. until time of services Tuesday at the church.

Mr. Mayo was born Oct. 23, 1941 in Rayville, La., the son of James Calvin Mayo and Emma Heyward Clack Mayo. He moved to Natchez in 1964, where he became involved in the oil and gas industry and worked for Biglane Operating Company for 43-and-a-half years, which he truly loved. He was co-sponsor of the White Whirlwind hot air balloon. He served his country in the U.S. Army and was an active member of Jefferson Street United Methodist Church.

Mr. Mayo was a wonderful husband, father and grandfather and a giving and loving person. When he was aware of others’ needs, he graciously provided the care needed, especially compelled to helping children of all ages.

For the past several decades his passion was to travel with his wife of 48 years. They rode a Honda Goldwing throughout the U.S. and Canada. He then began RVing. For the past several years, he enjoyed taking his grandchildren and wife on month-long RV trips yearly. They traveled the U.S. visiting and learning from many wonderful national parks.

Survivors include his wife, Millicent Hamacher Mayo; one son, Monty Mayo and wife, Monica Leblanc Mayo, of Natchez; one daughter, Mona Mayo Griffin and husband, Brian, of Mobile, Ala.; five grandchildren, Lawson, Hadley and Emma Griffin of Mobile, and Kate and Liza Mayo of Natchez; one brother, Claxton Mayo and wife, Carolyn Marks Mayo, of Monroe, La.; and special nieces and nephew Tracie Mayor Mathieu of Little Rock, Ark., Leah Mayo Liner of Monroe and Claxton Mark Mayo of Monroe.

Pallbearers will be Bubba Bruce, Mark Fortenbery, Luke Janette, Al Strickland, Johnny Dore, Malcolm Whitehead, Gary Parker and James Thomas.

Honorary pallbearers will be Josh Callaway, Allen Brown, Rudy Kruger, Harold Frost, Alton Case, Bob Barrett, Nicky Myers, Lewis Powell, James Biglane and Charlie Blaney.

Memorials may be made to the Natchez-Adams County Humane Society or to Jefferson Street United Methodist Church.

Online condolences may be made to www.lairdfh.com.