High school soccer seasons end with accolades

Published 12:05 am Monday, March 24, 2014

NATCHEZ — Six of the 11 starters on the Cathedral High School girls’ soccer team made the all-district team this year with senior Maddy Christian receiving district most valuable offensive player honors.

Along with Christian, Kayla Cauthen was awarded most valuable defensive player and Kaylee Sanders, Abby Brown, Paige Foster and Emma Hogue were all selected.

The Lady Green Wave ended their season 7-5 and 6-2 in district. Their final game came against St. Andrew Episcopal with a 5-0 loss in the first round of the MHSAA playoffs.

Email newsletter signup

Though the season ended earlier than they planned, Cathedral’s players were awarded for their hard work, talent and effort.

Abby Brown said they had to work hard to compete in their district and succeed.

“We started off slow,” Brown said. “We just started to get in our groove as things progressed.”

The team’s talent was tested against an experienced Franklin County High School team.

“It brings out the better parts in our athletic abilities (when we play them),” Brown said. “You push yourself more because you want it.”

Franklin County girls had nine players make the all-district list in Harley McKay, Krislyn Kent, Noel Parker, Taylor Moak, Brianna Brumfield, Brooklin Bolin, Kelsi Barron, Taylor Williams and Tye Sutton.

Si’Edria Middleton was selected the district’s Most Valuable Player while Jordan Cummings was most valuable mid fielder, Shelby Smith was most valuable defensive player and Macy Zisken was most valuable keeper.

With talent up against talent, the rivalry only brought out the best in both teams.

Kaylee Sanders, one of four seniors on the Lady Green Wave team, said she will miss the rivalry, but most importantly she will miss playing with her teammates who all became close friends.

“Being a senior just having your last game knowing you’re not going to go further in the season is hard,” Sanders said. “But I think we did well. I know how hard it is to lose seniors, but I have no doubt in my mind that they will come out strong (next year).”

Other local soccer teams to have players selected to the all-district team were:

• Cathedral boys: Nic Webb and Rudy Nugent.

• Franklin County boys: Greg Queen, Johnny Moore, Kyle McCormick, Keno Verdin, Kane Gilliam and Marcus Durell.

Hoby Mullins was awarded district MVP, Zayna Melow was most valuable offensive player, Benard Selmon was most valuable defensive player and Nathaniel Verdin was most valuable keeper.

• Adams County Christian School boys: Hunter Lindsey, Hayden Newman, Tyler Steed and Jordan Babbs.