Henry Arthur Taliaferro Jr.

Published 12:01 am Tuesday, October 27, 2015

P { margin-bottom: 0.08in; }

Feb. 24, 1938 – Oct. 25, 2015

Email newsletter signup

HARRISONBURG — Services for Henry Arthur “Hat” Taliaferro Jr., of Jonesville, who died Sunday, Oct. 25, 2015, will be 1 p.m. today at First Baptist Church in Harrisonburg with the Rev. Phillip Caples and Dr. Ralph Webber officiating.10_27 HenryATaliaferroJr. obitpic

Burial will follow at the Harrisonburg Hill Cemetery under the direction of Young’s Funeral Home in Ferriday.

Mr. Taliaferro was born Feb. 24, 1938, the son of Henry Arthur Taliaferro Sr. and Lucille Bennett Taliaferro.

He was a 1957 graduate of Harrisonburg High School and attended Northeast Louisiana University. He went on to serve his country as a military police from 1960 to 1963. He married Marcyle Carter in 1964, and shortly after began working at Catahoula Bank where he was a loan officer and served as a board director for a number of years. He loved fishing, traveling and spending time with his family and many devoted friends.

Henry Arthur was one of a kind, a true gentleman. He loved to pick — he had a good sense of humor about him. He truly tried to help everyone in any way possible. He loved his family and was a very devoted husband, father and grandfather. He enjoyed researching his family history and was a valued employer and was extremely loved by his co-workers. He was deeply loved and will be greatly missed by many.

Mr. Taliaferro was preceded in death by his parents.

Survivors include his wife, Marcyle Carter Taliaferro; one daughter, Rubyn Taliaferro; one son, Henry Arthur “Trey” Taliaferro III; one grandson, Henry Arthur “Tal” Taliaferro IV; one granddaughter, Madison Taliaferro; two sisters, Carole Caprito and husband, J.T. of Franklin, La., and Brenda Blackmon of Lafayette, La.; four nieces; three nephews; and a number of family and friends.

Pallbearers will be James White, Will Lipsey, Kevin Routon, Standford Richardson, Tommy Champlin, Drew Taylor, Mike Wilson and Ronnie Book.

Honorary pallbearers will be Dr. W.C. Coney, the board of directors of Catahoula-LaSalle Bank, Sewell Morgan, Russell Purvis, J.W. Seibert, Bobby Alexander, Larry Boothe, Paul Riggs and Judge Leo Boothe.

Memorials may be made to First Baptist Church Harrisonburg, the American Cancer Society or a charity of choice.

Online condolences may be sent to youngsfh.com.