Dr. Meg Brown named Nurse of the Year for 2017

Published 12:34 am Sunday, June 4, 2017

NATCHEZ — Dr. Meg Brown of Natchez was designated Nurse of the Year at the Eliza Pillars Registered Nurses of Mississippi (EPRNM) 32nd annual convention in Biloxi.

The nursing organization is named for Eliza Farish Pillars, the first African-American nurse employed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. EPRNM is an organization dedicated to excellence in healthcare and supports nurses statewide. Nurses from seven geographical districts in the state make up membership in the organization. District VI consists of the Natchez area.

Brown has been a member of EPRNM for more than 25 years and has held offices on the district and state levels. She is currently state treasurer and a member of the state scholarship and awards committee. Brown, recognized as an outstanding nurse by her peers, has made significant educational, professional, nursing and community service contributions.

Email newsletter signup

Brown is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the honor society for nursing. She has demonstrated the excellence and leadership that STTI advocates. Brown has engaged in many community service projects over the years through EPRNM and her religious congregation at Christian Hope Baptist Church.

Brown is currently Associate Dean of Nursing in the College of Professional Studies at Grambling State University in Grambling, La. Brown provides leadership for the advancement and progression of the school of nursing. In January of this year, Brown was awarded the Sen. Gregory Tarver Endowed Professorship for Nursing Education of the College of Professional Studies, a prestigious accomplishment at the university.