Voters head to polls Tuesday

Published 1:29 am Sunday, November 5, 2017

NATCHEZ — On Tuesday, Adams County voters will elect a new county prosecutor, justice court judge for the southern district and District 5 Election Commissioner.

Bryan Callaway, Shameca Collins and Scott Pintard are running for county prosecutor.

Danny Barber, Timothy Blalock, Jack Blaney, Eileen Mary Maher and Stanley N. “Bucky” Merritt have qualified for justice court judge of the southern district.

Email newsletter signup

Alma Fletcher is running unopposed for District 5 Election Commissioner.

Two of the positions are open after former justice court judge Charlie Vess and former county prosecutor Barret Martin retired before their terms had been completed.

Voters in District 1 at the Natchez Mall, Bellemont and Courthouse will be voting for county attorney and justice court judge.

The Mall precinct is located at the central court at 350 John R. Junkin Drive; Bellemont at Crosspoint Church at 285 Highland Blvd; and the courthouse is located at 115 S. Wall St.

Voters in District 2 at the Liberty Park, Kingston, Duncan Park and Beau Pre precincts will vote for county attorney and justice court judge.

The Beau Pre precinct is at Calvary Baptist Church at 522 U.S. 61 South; Duncan Park Canteen at 57 Duncan Park Road; Kingston Fire Station at 575 Kingston Road; and Liberty Park at the National Guard Armory at 329 Liberty Road.

Voters in District 3 at Maryland Heights, Concord and Steckler Multipurpose Building will vote only for county attorney. At the Palestine precinct they will vote for the county attorney and district court judge.

The Concord precinct is located at Christian Hope Baptist Church at 301 LaSalle St.; Maryland Heights at the recreation building at 111 Dumas Drive; Multipurpose precinct at the David R. Steckler Multipurpose Building at 311 Liberty Road; and Palestine at the Liberty Road Volunteer Fire Department at 1196 Liberty Road.

In District 4, voters at the Pine Ridge, Northside, Morgantown and Carpenter precincts will vote only for the county attorney.

The Carpenter precinct is located at the Rose Hill Baptist Church at 607 1/2 Madison St.; Morgantown at Morgantown School at 101 Cottage Home Drive; Northside at Frazier School at 1445 George F. West Blvd.; and Pine Ridge at the county barn at 176 Foster Mound Road.

District 5 voters at the Airport, Foster Mound and Oakland precincts will vote for election commissioner and county attorney. District 5 voters at the Washington precinct will vote for election commissioner, county attorney and justice court judge.

The Airport precinct at the terminal on 434 Airport Road; Foster Mound at the fire station at 228 Foster Mound Road; Oakland at Lovely Lane Methodist Church at 65 Morgantown Road; and Washington at New Hope Baptist Church at 417 Morgantown Road.

Voters can type in their addresses to locate their polling places at

For more information, call the circuit clerk’s office at 601-446-6326 or the election commission’s office at 601-445-7905.

Precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.