Youth Football: Bills score in final minute to notch Super Bowl win over Saints

Published 1:02 am Wednesday, November 8, 2017

In a matter of seconds, the Tensas State Bank Bills went from trailing to Super Bowl champs.

Noah Myers broke free, jolting his way up the middle to score the winning touchdown Tuesday night for a 20-19 victory over the State Farm Saints in 7-and-under Miss-Lou youth football action at Vidalia High School.

“They never gave up,” Bills coach Allen Morrow said. “They have been doing that all year, playing until the whistle blows. That’s all we want out of them.”

Email newsletter signup

The game was tied 7-7 after the first half of play, and after another trade in scores the Bills held a one-point lead, 14-13 on a stopped extra point.

Despite Saints’ Marion Ramirez being stuffed on the run attempt, State Farm was able to get the ball back on a fumble recovery from Maurice Kerry with less than four minutes to play.

The Saints then scored on their next play from scrimmage, as Ramirez found the end zone on a 26-yard run.

Ramirez ended the game with three touchdowns on runs of 25, 40 and 26 yards. He also rushed for an extra point.

“They played great,” Saints coach Paul Jackson said.

With just more than two minutes remaining, the Bills put together a quick drive and scored on the winning 19-yard touchdown.

“We had to go for it,” Morrow said. “They scored really fast tonight, and we didn’t want to give them the ball back.”

Myers rushed for two scores in the win, while Jordan Morrow had one touchdown and Rankin Wiggins rushed for two extra points.

The Bills ended the season undefeated with a record of 8-0.

“They never quit no matter what was going on,” Morrow said. “We had a great group of kids this year.”


The Vidalia City Marshall Law Dogs won the 9-and-under Super Bowl over the McDonald Collision Saints, 14-0.

Cortlin Harris rushed for two touchdowns on runs of 15 and 55 yards for the Law Dogs in the win.


The EAS Bulldogs defeated the Super Auto Glass Law Dogs for the 12-and-under Super Bowl, 20-7.

The Bulldogs were led by Tyrese O’Neal with two touchdown runs, both from 30 yards out. Rashon Baker added a 35-yard touchdown run.

Kienyan Hence had a 70-yard touchdown run for the Law Dogs.