• 37°

Voters go to polls to vote in mid-term elections today


NATCHEZ — Voters throughout the nation will go the polls today in the mid-term general election in which members of Congress and other races are on the ballots.

Polls in Adams County are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. today and in Concordia Parish polls are open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Adams County Chief Deputy Clerk Eva Givens said she anticipates a large voter turnout in Adams County today.

“It’s going to be pretty busy. We’ve had 826 absentees ballots,” Givens said Monday afternoon. “That’s very high for this election.”

Givens said voters do not have to declare a party today since it is a general election.

“Just bring a photo ID, and there’s no parties this time,” Givens said. “It’s a general election.”

Circuit Clerk Eddie Walker said he agreed with Givens’ assessment that voter turn out would be high today.

“We encourage everybody to take this opportunity to get out and vote,” Walker said. “I’m anticipating a pretty big turnout for a midterm election based on the absentee ballots we have received.”

Below is a round up of races that will be on today’s ballots throughout the Miss-Lou:

Adams County:

  • For U.S. Senate

Incumbent U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker, R-Miss, will face David Baria, who won the Democratic Party’s nomination in June primaries; Libertarian candidate Danny Bedwell; and Reform Party candidate Shawn O’Hara.

U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran, R-Miss., resigned his long-held Senate seat in March and Gov. Phil Bryant appointed Cindy Hyde-Smith, Rep.-Brookhaven, to fill his unexpired term.

A special election to fill the vacancy is on today’s ballots, and Hyde-Smith is running for the seat. Challengers did not have to win party primaries and the contenders on the general election ballots are Tobey Bernard Bartee, Mike Espy and Chris McDaniel.

  • For the U.S. House of Representatives 3rd Congressional District seat: Michael Ted

Evans, who won the Democratic Party primary in June; Michael Guest, who won the Republican Party primary in June; and Reform Party candidate Matthew Holland.

Judge seats

(All judge positions are nonpartisan)

  • For Southern District Supreme Court District 2 Position 1: David M. Ishee is running unopposed
  • For Court of Appeals District 4 Position 2: Byron Carter, David McCarty and Jeff Weill Sr.
  • For Chancery Court Judge District 17-1: E. Vincent Davis is running unopposed
  • For Chancery Court Judge District 17-2: George Ward is running unopposed
  • For Circuit Court Judge District 6-1: Lillie Blackmon Sanders is running unopposed
  • For Circuit Court Judge District 6-2: Debra Blackwell is running unopposed after her opponent Holmes Sturgeon died unexpectedly of health issues earlier in October.
  • For County Court Judge: Walt Brown is running unopposed

Below is a look at all of the races that will be on today’s ballots in Concordia Parish:

  • A primary election for Louisiana Secretary of State to fill the seat of Tom Schedler, who resigned in May after a former employee filed a sexual harassment lawsuit against him. On the ballots, vying for the Republican Party nomination will be Kyle Ardoin, who has served in the position after being appointed to fill the seat after Schedler stepped down; Heather Cloud; A.G. Crowe; “Rick” Edmonds; Thomas J. Kennedy III; and Julie Stokes. Democratic Party candidates: “Gwen” Collins-Greenup; Renee Fontenot Free. No party candidate: Matthew Paul “Matt” Moreau.

General election:

  • U.S. Representative, 5th Congressional District: Ralph Abraham, Republican; Jessee Carlton Fleenor, Democrat; Kyle Randol, Libertarian; Billy Burkette, independent.
  • Member of School Board, District 3, Place B: Amy V. DeWitt, Republican; Lisette Lowry Forman, no party.
  • Member of School Board, District 4, Place A: Derrick D. Carson, no party; “Brad Clifton, Republican.
  • Members of School Board, District 4, Place B: Jeffery Goodman, no party; Angela White Hayes, Democrat.
  • Member of School Board, District 5, Place B: John Bostic, no party; Ralph Simmons, Republican.
  • Alderman Town of Clayton: Carl Ray Thompson, independent; Wilbert Washington, independent.

Other statewide measures on ballots in Concordia Parish today:

  • CA No. 1 (ACT 719-SB 31) Prohibit felon from public office: yes or no.
  • CA No. 2 (ACT 722-SB 243) Unanimous jury for noncapital felonies: yes or no.
  • CA No. 3(ACT 717-SB263) Permit donations from political subdivisions: yes or no.
  • CA No. 4 (ACT 720-SB 59) Transportation Trust Fund: yes or no.
  • CA No. 5 (ACT 721-SB 163) Extend eligibility for tax exemptions: yes or no.
  • CA No. 6 (ACT 718-SB 164) Reappraisal of residential property.
  • PW Fantasy Sports — Authorize Fantasy Sports Contests — Act 322, 2018: yes, no.

Unopposed races that will not be on Concordia Parish ballots today:

  • Robert Maples will be the new mayor of Ridgecrest, Louisiana, since he was the only candidate who qualified to run for position before the July 20 qualifying deadline.

Other races in Concordia Parish that went uncontested after the July 20 qualifying deadline and will not be on today’s ballots

  • Constable Justice of the Peace District 2: Terence A. Williams, incumbent, who was unopposed
  • Concordia Parish School Board, District 1 Place A: Fred Butcher, incumbent, who was unopposed.
  • Concordia Parish School Board, District 1 Place B: Dorothy Parker who was unopposed to fill the position of Mary H. Campbell, who is not seeking reelection.
  • Concordia Parish School Board, District 2: Raymond T. Riley Sr., incumbent, who was unopposed.
  • Concordia Parish School Board, District 3 Place A: Ricky Raven, incumbent, who was unopposed.
  • Ridgecrest Board of Aldermen all unopposed: Connie Adair, incumbent; Rita “Mitzi” Bolyer, incumbent; Veller Ray Carroll; Darleen Humphries, incumbent “Josh” Wells.


Vidalia man turns himself in to Ferriday police for October shooting incident


Governor’s orders do not relax local COVID-19 restrictions


Forbes calls Natchez No. 5 in “Top 10 Best Places In America” to avoid pandemic


Gov. Reeves lessens COVID-19 restrictions


Neighbor helping neighbor a common sight after winter storm


Supervisors: No employee raises possible because of budget concerns


Chamber pot spares Stanton Hall from further storm damage


Supervisors approve payment system for attorneys


3 alleged to have broken into vehicles in Beau Pre in Adams County custody


Six scouts sworn in as Eagle Scouts together


Dart:Sagos mix business with Rhythm Night Club passion project


J&J’s 1-dose shot cleared, giving US 3rd COVID-19 vaccine


Author Richard Grant speaks about book, Natchez at Natchez Literary and Cinema Celebration


New machinery introduced at Natchez countertop business


Vidalia still under boil water advisory after winter storm


Natchez hires assistance for storm cleanup


Bishop Gunn lead singer McCready arrested Thursday in Concordia Parish


Vidalia missing teen found after extensive search


Law enforcement agencies continue search for missing 17-year-old


Natchez hires help in procuring disaster relief funds due to winter storm damage


Officials OK signs for high school sports championship row


Adams County Water Association lifts boil water notice


Teachers, first responders to be eligible for vaccine Monday


Mississippi House votes to overhaul several state taxes