2019 Election: Concordia prepares to vote

Published 12:01 am Thursday, October 3, 2019

VIDALIA — Concordia Parish election officials said they are expecting a big turnout in Louisiana’s primary elections Oct. 12.

“I think probably this may be the biggest turnout since I’ve been clerk,” said Clyde R. Webber Jr., Concordia Parish Clerk of Court, who announced earlier this year he would not seek reelection to the seat he has held for 55 years. “We’ve already had over 1,300 people vote.”

Email newsletter signup

Early voting began last week.

In Louisiana, “all voters may vote early, just like they are voting on Election Day,” states the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office website. “Voters who want to vote early for any election may do so in person at their parish Registrar of Voters Office or at designated locations in the parish from 14 to seven days prior to any scheduled election.”

Webber said he believes several factors are contributing to the voter interest in the Oct. 12 elections.

“The people are working really hard to get the vote out,” Webber said. “The local races are really important. The governor’s race is really important on a national basis because Louisiana has the only Democratic governor in the Deep South and they’d like to keep him. I think that is one of the driving forces — the Republican/Democrat type thing.”

Also, Webber said, many of the local positions open this year, including sheriff, clerk of court and several police juror seats are contested.

“There are a lot of interesting races,” Webber said. “This is the first time in a long time that almost everything has been contested.”

Saturday’s primary races are open primaries.

“Whoever gets 50% plus one wins,” Webber said. “If nobody gets 50% plus one, it doesn’t matter what their party is, we have a runoff in November.”

The general election (runoff) is scheduled for Nov. 16.

Webber said Concordia Parish’s 20 precincts would be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. Oct. 12.

Below is a list of the candidates who qualified to run for Concordia Parish offices in the Oct. 12 primary:

Concordia Parish Sheriff

4Robert “Rock” Davis, Democrat

4David Hedrick, Independent

4Denis Mulvihill, No party

4Fred W. Taylor III, No party

Clerk of Court

4“Andy” Anders, Democrat

4Pascha Cater Brown, Republican

4Phillip Webber, Independent


4Jerry Clark, Democrat


4Craig Hawn, Independent

4Dennis LaRavia, Independent

4“Pam” Poole, Independent

Police Juror — District 1A

4Maurice Bachus Sr., Independent

4McKinley Bates Jr., No party

4Carey H. Cook, Democrat

Police Juror — District 1B

4Joseph “Joe Bear” Parker Sr., Democrat

Police Juror, District 2

4Kenneth “Butch” Brannan, Democrat

4Willie J. Dunbar, Democrat

4Kevin Friloux, Independent

4“Kenny” Simpson, Democrat

4Rodney “Fred” Washington, Democrat

4Willie “Bill” Yearby, Democrat

Police Jury — District 3A

4Adam Probst, Republican

Police Jury — District 3B

4Kenneth DeWitt, No party

4Steve Fleming, Independent

4“Bob” Jones , Independent

4Cornell Lewis, No party

4“Casey” Wagoner, Independent

4Allen “Scottie” Whittington, Republican

Police Jury — District 4A

4Genesia Allen, Democrat

4Jerry Beatty, Independent

4Rodney Matthews, Independent

4Curtis “Wrecker” Nelson, Republican

4Terrence “Sweet” Williams, Independent

Police Jury — District 4B

4Lana Hawkins, Democrat

4Gary Wayne Neal, Republican

4Jimmy K. Wilkinson, Independent

Police Jury — District 5A

4Henry H. Ceasor, Democrat

4Collin Edwards, Independent

4“Jimmy” Jernigan, Democrat

4Linda Long Mills, Democrat

4Howard Phillips, Democrat

Police Jury — District 5B

4“Brad” Adams, Republican

4Darrell Brigman, No party

4Ryan Thompson, Republican

4Morris M. Willson, Republican

Mayor of Ridgecrest

4“Connie” Adair, Independent

4Veller Ray Carroll, No party

Ridgecrest alderman

4Deborah Barrett, No party

State Senator – District 32

4Daniel M. “Danny” Cole, Dem. – Jena

4Judia “Judy” Duhon, Dem. — Olla

4“Steve” May, Rep. — Columbia

4Glen D. Womack, Rep. — Harrisonburg

State Senator — District 34

4Katrina Jackson, Dem. —  Monroe

State Representative — District 21

4C. Travis Johnson, Democrat

4Glen B. McGlothin, Independent

4Jane Netterville, Democrat

4“Clint” Vegas, Independent