• 68°

Louisiana votes Saturday: Here are candidates on Concordia Parish ballots


The Natchez Democrat

VIDALIA — Concordia Parish voters will go to the polls Saturday to vote in Louisiana’s primary elections and election officials said they are expecting a large voter turnout.

On the ballots are races for local offices, including clerk of court, police jury seats and sheriff’s positions as well as statewide races for governor and lieutenant governor, among others

Concordia Parish’s 20 precincts will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. Saturday.

Below is a list of the candidates who will be on Concordia Parish ballots in Saturday’s primary:


Democrats: Oscar “Omar” Dantzler and John Bel Edwards (incumbent)

Independent: Gary Landrieu

Republican: Ralph Abraham, Patrick “Live Wire” Landry, “Eddie” Rispone.

Lt. Governor

Democrat: Willie Jones

Republican: William “Billy” Nungesser

Secretary of State

Democrat: “Gwen” Collins-Geenup

Republican: Kyle Ardoin, Thomas J. Kennedy III, Amanda “Jennings” Smith

Attorney General

Democrat: “Ike Jackson Jr.

Republican: “Jeff” Landry


Democrat: Derrick Edwards

No Party: Teresa Kenny

Republican: John M. Shroder

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry

Democrats: Marguerite Green, “Charlie” Greer and Peter Williams

Republicans: Michael G. “Mike” Strain and Bradley Zaunbrecher

BESE District 5

Republicans: Stephen Chapman and Ashley Ellis

State Senator 32nd Senatorial District

Democrats: Daniel M. “Danny” Cole and Judia “Judy” Duhon

Republicans: Steve May and Glen D. Wolmack

State Representative 21st Representative District

Democrats: C. Travis Johnson and Jane Netterville

Independents: Glen B. McGlothin Jr. and “Clint” Vegas

Concordia Parish Sheriff

Robert “Rock” Davis, Democrat; David Hedrick, Independent; Denis Mulvihill, No party; Fred W. Taylor III, No party

Clerk of Court

“Andy” Anders, Democrat; Pascha Cater Brown, Republican; Phillip Webber, Independent


Jerry Clark, Democrat Coroner; Craig Hawn, Independent; Dennis LaRavia, Independent; “Pam” Poole, Independent

Police Juror — District 1A

Maurice Bachus Sr., Independent; McKinley Bates Jr., No party; Carey H. Cook, Democrat

Police Juror — District 1B

4 Joseph “Joe Bear” Parker Sr., Democrat

Police Juror, District 2

Kenneth “Butch” Brannan, Democrat; Willie J. Dunbar, Democrat; Kevin Friloux, Independent; “Kenny” Simpson, Democrat; Rodney “Fred” Washington, Democrat; Willie “Bill” Yearby, Democrat

Police Jury — District 3A

Adam Probst, Republican

Police Jury — District 3B

Kenneth DeWitt, No party; Steve Fleming, Independent; “Bob” Jones , Independent; Cornell Lewis, No party; “Casey” Wagoner, Independent; Allen “Scottie” Whittington, Republican

Police Jury — District 4A

Genesia Allen, Democrat; Jerry Beatty, Independent;Rodney Matthews, Independent; Curtis “Wrecker” Nelson, Republican; Terrence “Sweet” Williams, Independent

Police Jury — District 4B

Lana Hawkins, Democrat; Gary Wayne Neal, Republican; Jimmy K. Wilkinson, Independent

Police Jury — District 5A

Henry H. Ceasor, Democrat; Collin Edwards, Independent; “Jimmy” Jernigan, Democrat; Linda Long Mills, Democrat; Howard Phillips, Democrat

Police Jury — District 5B

4“Brad” Adams, Republican 4Darrell Brigman, No party 4Ryan Thompson, Republican 4Morris M. Willson, Republican

Mayor of Ridgecrest

“Connie” Adair, Independent;Veller Ray Carroll, No party

Ridgecrest alderman

Deborah Barrett, No party


Excitement to the ears awaits at Natchez Festival of Music


Photo gallery: Natchez Mayor signs lease for historic train depot


Damaged utility pole causes 200 customers to lose power


Judge denies second request to revoke murder suspect’s house arrest order


City Hall painted purple with lights in support of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week


Natchez Early College Academy names STAR Student, STAR Teacher


Teen arrested in ongoing investigation of double homicide


Revamped Crime Stoppers program helps area law enforcement solve crime


President Felecia M. Nave launches Inaugural President Lecture Series at Natchez campus


Natchez hotel catches on fire


Natchez officials host closed meeting concerning potential land donation to the city


‘Slave Dwelling Project’ stirs up conversations about history


Adams County officials to lift mask mandate on May 1


Hank Williams Jr. to play Natchez 4th of July Celebration


Law officials arrest 3 in connection with automobile burglaries


Master Gardners host spring plant sale at Co-Lin


Security officer enjoys building relationships with students


Jobs everywhere but few workers to fill them


Natchez artist opens mobile-making studio amid pandemic


Concordia Parish jury finds Clayton man guilty in killing of his wife, 12-year-old boy


International investors from India visit Natchez on economic development trip


Donations of items needed for 3rd Gayrage Sale


City approves final lease for historic train depot on Broadway Street


Lt. Gov. Hosemann addresses American Rescue funds in Natchez, Adams County