Election 2019: List of candidates on Tuesday’s ballot in Adams County

Published 12:29 am Saturday, November 2, 2019

Voters statewide will go to the polls in Tuesday’s general election to elect a new governor, lt. governor, secretary of state, state representatives and state senators and other statewide offices as well as many candidates to fill Adams County offices including circuit clerk and sheriff.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. and voters present a photo identification.

Below we offer a look at candidates who will be on the Mississippi ballots in Tuesday’s general election in Adams County.

Email newsletter signup

Tax Assessor

  • Democrat Larry “Good News” Hughes
  • Independent Douglas Atkins

Tax Collector

  • Democrat Rose Daniel Patterson
  • Independent Jim Smith

Adams County Supervisor District 2

  • Independent David Carter
  • Republican Kevin Wilson

Adams County Supervisor District 3

  • Democrat Angela Gibson Hutchins
  • Independent Brandon H. McCranie
  • Independent Wilbert Whittley

Adams County Supervisor District 4

  • Democrat James “Rickey” Gray
  • Independent Jacquetta McCranie

Adams County Supervisor District 5

  • Democrat Warren Gaines
  • Republican Cleotha Marsaw
  • Independent Lee Blanton

Justice Court Judge District 2

  • Democrat Eileen Mary Maher
  • Independent Danny Barber

Adams County Circuit Clerk

  • Democrat Eva “E.J.” Givens
  • Independent Charles L. “Charlie” Vess

Adams County Sheriff

  • Democrat Travis Patten
  • Independent Adam Kirk
  • Independent Brian Seyfarth

Mississippi Senate District 37

  • Democrat William E. Godfrey
  • Republican Melanie Sojourner

 Mississippi Representative District 96

  • Independent Angela Cockerham
  • Democrat Aisha Sanders

Mississippi Governor

  • Democrat Jim Hood
  • Republican Tate Reeves
  • Constitution Party Bob Hickingbottom
  • Independent David R. Singletary

Mississippi Lt. Governor

  • Republican Delbert Hosemann
  • Democratic Jay Hughes

Mississippi Secretary of State

  • Democrat Johnny DuPree
  • Republican Michael D. Watson Jr.

Mississippi Attorney General

  • Democrat Jennifer Riley Collins
  • Republican Lynn Fitch

Mississippi State Treasurer

  • Democrat Addie Lee Green
  • Republican David McRae

Mississippi Commissioner of
Agriculture and Commerce

  • Democrat Rickey L. Cole
  • Republican Andy Gipson

Mississippi Commissioner of

  • Democrat Robert E. Amos
  • Republican Mike Chaney

Public Service Commissioner
Southern District

  • Republican Dane Maxwell
  • Democrat Connie Mora