2 ex mayors file to run again in day 1 of Concordia Parish qualifying

Published 7:31 pm Wednesday, January 8, 2020


The Natchez Democrat

Two former mayors of Concordia Parish towns qualified to run for mayor of their respective towns on the opening day of Louisiana election qualifying Wednesday.

Email newsletter signup

Former Ferriday Mayor Gene Allen qualified Wednesday to run as a Democrat for the Ferriday mayor’s seat, and former Vidalia Mayor Hyram Copeland qualified Wednesday to run as an independent for the Vidalia mayor’s seat.

Qualifying opened Wednesday in Louisiana and runs through Friday for presidential, municipal and congressional seats.

Presidential preference primary and municipal primary elections will be April 4 with the municipal general election being May 9 and the presidential general and open congressional primary being Nov. 3.

Below is a list of candidates who had qualified by 5 p.m. Wednesday to run for offices in Concordia Parish.


Presidential Nominee Democratic Party

“Pete” Buttigieg, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernard “Bernie” Sanders, Andrew Yang.


Presidential Nominee Republican Party
Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Republican.


Mayor Town of Clayton
Josephine Washington, Democrat; “Lil” Wilbert Washington, independent.


Mayor Town of Ferriday
Gene Allen, Democrat; Rydell Turner, Democrat.


Mayor Town of Vidalia
Hyram Copeland, independent


Chief of Police Town of Vidalia
Frank Duson Jr., independent; “Joey” Merrill, independent; “Chris” Stricklin, no party.


Alderman District 1, Town of Vidalia

Rosa Irving Demby, Democrat


Alderman District 2, Town of Vidalia
Robert Lee Gardner Jr., Democrat; Raymond Murray, Republican; “Jamie” Walsworth, Republican.


Aldermen District 3, Town of Vidalia
Jon Betts, Republican; “Chris” King, Republican; “Tommy” Probst, Republican; Brent Smith, Republican.


Alderman District A, Town of Ferriday
Shana “Pouncey” Skipper, Democrat.


Alderman District B, Town of Ferriday

Elijah “Stepper’s” Banks, Democrat; Ahren Williams, Democrat.

Alderman District C, Town of Ferriday
Sandra “Gail” Pryor, Democrat.

Alderman District D, Town of Ferriday
Andre J. Keys, Democrat; Johnnie “Rip” Woodruff, Democrat.

Alderman District E, Town of Ferriday
Essie Green, Democrat; Gloria J. Lloyd, Democrat; David Turner, independent.