• 54°

Local leaders get top positions in Mississippi Legislature

NATCHEZ — State legislators representing Adams County were recently selected to chair several committees in the Mississippi House of Representatives and Mississippi State Senate.

District 97 Rep. Sam C. Mims V, R-McComb, has been reappointed Chairman of the Public Health and Human Services Committee. Mims said he would also serve on the Appropriations, Judiciary A, and Medicaid committees.
“It’s an honor to continue the chairmanship of Public Health and Human Services, and I appreciate the speaker’s confidence in reappointing me,” Mims said. “I think we’ve really made progress in available quality healthcare over the past several years, and I look forward to continue to work with my colleagues in the House to improve the quality of life for all Mississippians.”

District 96 Rep. Angela Cockerham, I-Magnolia, represents Adams, Amite, Pike and Wilkinson counties and was appointed chairman of the Judiciary A Committee after having led the Judiciary B. Committee in her previous term.

Cockerham was also appointed chairman of the Judiciary En Banc and serves on the Apportionment and Elections; Appropriations; Compilation, Revision and Publication; Education; Energy; Ethics; Management; and Legislative Budget committees.

District 37 Sen. Melanie Sojourner, R-Natchez, said Lt. Gov. Delbert Hoseman appointed her to serve on several committees, including finance, highways and transportation, agriculture, county affairs, labor, ports and marine resources and corrections.

“When you look at the situation with our current prison system we are having a lot of discussions there,” Sojourner said. “We actually had a hearing yesterday with some folks pertaining to some better practices, some solutions to some of the problems we are seeing with corrections. I do think it will be a busy session because there is a good bit being discussed.”

Mississippi District 94 Rep. Robert Johnson, D-Natchez, was recently selected the Mississippi House Democratic leader.