• 72°

Today is last day to qualify for election

NATCHEZ — Today is the last day for candidates to qualify for this year’s municipal elections.

The deadline for paperwork to be filed with the Natchez City Clerk’s office in City Hall at 124 S. Pearl St. is 5 p.m. today.

At the end of the day Thursday, still only three candidates had qualified for the Natchez mayoral seat being vacated by Natchez Mayor Darryl Grennell who chose not to seek a second term.

The primary election will be April 7. Runoff elections, if necessary, will be April 28, followed by the general election on June 2.

Below is a complete list of candidates who have qualified so far to run for Natchez municipal positions.


Independent candidate Richard Branyan will face the winner of the Democratic primary between Ernest “Tony” Fields and Dan Gibson, who are both running as Democrats.

Ward 1

Valencia Hall will face incumbent Ward 1 Alderwoman Joyce Arceneaux-Mathis in the Democratic primary and the winner will face independent candidate Jamar White in the general election.

Ward 2

Incumbent Alderman Billie Joe Frazier, Democrat.

Ward 3

Incumbent Alderwoman Sarah Carter Smith, Democrat

Ward 4

Michael Calcote will face incumbent Felicia Irving in the Democratic primary.

Ward 5

Incumbent Alderman Ben Davis, Democrat.

Ward 6

Arrick Rice and Queen Ella Wilson are both running as Democrats against incumbent Alderman Dan Dillard, Democrat.

Municipal Judge

Incumbent Municipal Court Judge Lisa Jordan Dale