• 72°

Attention municipal voters, field set

The field is set in this year’s Natchez municipal elections.

The candidate-qualifying deadline passed at 5 p.m. Friday and Natchez ended up with four candidates seeking the mayoral seat being vacated by Darryl Grennell who chose not to run for a second term.

Democrats Dan Gibson and Tony Fields will compete in the April 7 Democrat primary and the winner will face independent candidates Richard Branyan and Phillip West in the June 2 general election.

Several incumbent aldermen ended up running unopposed — Ward 2 Alderman Billie Joe Frazier, Ward 3 Alderwoman Sarah Carter Smith and Ward 5 Alderman Ben Davis.

Also, incumbent municipal judge Lisa Jordan Dale is running unopposed.

Congratulations to all of those candidates on another term.

Three Natchez aldermen’s wards, however, shaped out to be contested with incumbent Democrat Ward 1 Alderwoman Joyce Arceneaux-Mathis facing challenges from Democrat Valencia Hall and independent Jamar White.

Incumbent Democrat Ward 4 Alderwoman Felicia Irving facing challenges from fellow Democrats Michael Calcote and Fredrick Todd and Republican candidate Brenda Floyd.

Incumbent Ward 6 Alderman Dan Dillard faces challenges from fellow Democrats Arrick Rice and Queen Ella Wilson.

Congratulations to all candidates for putting themselves out there.

Now it is up to the voters to pay attention to the issues and vote for the candidates they believe will be the most effective in the jobs.

May the best candidates win.