• 61°

Written candidate announcements published for free in newspaper

NATCHEZ — Party primaries for Natchez municipal elections are scheduled for June 2.

Any candidates who have not yet submitted a candidate announcement to be published free of charge as a public service to inform readers has until 5 p.m. Monday, May 18, to submitted a written announcement of no more than 400 words and a head and shoulders picture.

Announcements can be emailed to newsroom@natchezdemocrat.com or mailed to P.O. Box 1447, Natchez, MS 39121 or dropped by the Natchez Democrat office at 503 N. Canal St., Natchez.

At this time, we will only accept announcements from candidates in contested races that will be on the primary ballots and who have not yet had their free-announcement published.

Here is a recap of all of the Natchez municipal candidates:

Mayoral candidates

Democrats Tony Fields and Dan Gibson in the June 2 mayoral Democratic primary and the winner will face independents Richard Branyan and Phillip West in the July 14 general election to fill the seat being vacated by Natchez Mayor Darryl Grennell, who chose not to seek a second term.

Ward 1 Alderman candidates

Incumbent Democrat Ward 1 Alderwoman Joyce Arceneaux-Mathis will face Democrat Valencia Hall in the June 2 primary and the winner will face independent candidate Jamar White in the general election.

Ward 3 Alderman candidates

Incumbent Democrat Ward 4 Alderwoman Felicia Irving faces a challenge from fellow Democrats Michael Calcote and Fredrick Todd in the June 2 primary and Republican candidate Brenda Floyd will be on the Republican primary ballot unchallenged for the Republican nomination.

Ward 6 Aldermen candidates

Incumbent Ward 6 Alderman Dan Dillard faces challenges from fellow Democrats Arrick Rice and Queen Ella Wilson in the June 2 primary and the winner will prevail as no Republican or independent candidates are seeking that seat.

Uncontested races

Incumbents Ward 2 Alderman Billie Joe Frazier, Ward 3 Alderwoman Sarah Carter-Smith and Ward 5 Alderman Ben Davis, all Democrats, are running unopposed and by default will serve another term on the board.

Incumbent Municipal Court Judge Lisa Jordan Dale did not garner any opposition so she also will serve another term.