County supervisors appoint officers, department heads and new county administrator

Published 4:36 pm Wednesday, January 3, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

NATCHEZ — The Adams County Board of Supervisors has a new president and a new county administrator, each appointed as Tuesday’s meeting.

Kevin Wilson, District 2 supervisor, was nominated for the position of president of the board by District 1 Supervisor Wes Middleton and seconded by District 5 Supervisor Warren Gaines. All voted to approve Wilson’s appointment as president except District 4 Supervisor Ricky Gray, who voted nay.

Stephanie Washington is the new Adams County county administrator.

During his supervisor report, Gray told Wilson his vote against him serving at president was not “personal.”

Email newsletter signup

“I don’t want the president of the board to think what I did this morning was personal because it wasn’t personal. I think God has a way of doing what he’s going to do and I pray God gives you wisdom and understanding to be able to be the president for one year. It was not personal and I don’t want you to take it personal,” Gray said.

Supervisors Kevin Wilson and Angela Hutchins nominated Wes Middleton as vice president of the board for the coming calendar year. All voted to approve that nomination.

Next, Scott Slover was again appointed county attorney for the coming year by unanimous vote.

Stephanie Washington, who has served Sunflower County as comptroller for the last eight years, was appointed Adams County Administrator by unanimous vote.

Other appointments for the coming year included:

• Chike Martin as comptroller

• Robby Dollar as road manager

• Darryl Smith as county volunteer fire coordinator

• George Ford of IMS as county engineer

• Verna Johnson as justice court administrator

• De’Neen Price as purchasing clerk

• Claudia White as receiving clerk

• Corvet McNeal as inventory clerk.