Early voting begins in Concordia Parish

Published 8:00 am Saturday, March 9, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

VIDALIA, La. — Saturday, March 9, marks the beginning of early voting for Concordia Parish municipal and presidential primaries.

Incumbent Vidalia Mayor Buz Craft (Democrat) is unopposed as are the Vidalia Aldermen in District 3 Brent Smith and District 5, Jon Betts. “Joey” Ainsworth, Republican, who previously qualified to run against Betts has withdrawn.

The three Clayton Aldermen Michelle D. Bethea, Willie L. “Bill” Evans and Valerie T. Parker and Town of Ferriday District C Alderwoman Sandra “Gail” Pryor (Democrat) are also unopposed.

Email newsletter signup

The police chief of the Village of Clayton Bobby L. Madison Sr. (Democrat) was unopposed but has withdrawn from the election.

All other mayor, police chief and alderman races in Ferriday, Clayton and Vidalia will be decided in 2024 elections.

Early voting begins Saturday and ends March 16 before primary election day on March 23.

For the municipal general election, early voting begins April 13 and ends April 20 before election day on April 27.

The deadline to request a mail ballot from the registrar’s office is March 22.

Candidates who qualified in Concordia Parish municipal elections are listed below.



Mayor Town of Vidalia: “Buz” Craft, Democrat, Unopposed

Chief of Police Town of Vidalia: Frank Duson, Independent; “Joey” Merrill, Independent

Alderman District 1, Town of Vidalia: Bonita D. Cage, No Party; Chakatria Johnson Fitzgerald, Democrat; Joseph McCoy, Independent; Triand “Tron” McCoy, Democrat; Christine Washington, Democrat

Alderman District 2, Town of Vidalia: Robert Lee Gardner Jr., Democrat; Cassandra D. Lynch, Democrat. Vernon Stevens, Independent, has withdrawn.

Alderman District 3, Town of Vidalia: Brent Smith, Republican, Unopposed

Alderman District 4, Town of Vidalia: Deborah “Debbie” Brocato, Republican and “Tommy” Probst, Republican. “Beau” Shively, Republican, has withdrawn.

Alderman District 5, Town of Vidalia: Jon Betts, Republican, Unopposed. “Joey” Ainsworth, Republican, has withdrawn.



Mayor Town of Ferriday: Charles Anderson, No Party; “Joey” Bazile III, Democrat; DeBorah Elaine-Jones, Democrat; Alvin Garrison, Democrat; Mitchell Hunter, Democrat; Ronnie Reese, No Party; James Skipper, Independent; Rydell Turner, Democrat

Alderman District A, Town of Ferriday: Brandi Bacon, Democrat; Dra’Carl Walker, Democrat

Alderman District B, Town of Ferriday: Elijah “Steppers” Banks, Democrat; Devin Bryan, Democrat; “Juan” King, No Party; Devonte M. Schiele, No Party

Alderman District C, Town of Ferriday: Sandra “Gail” Pryor, Democrat, Unopposed

Alderman District D, Town of Ferriday: Andre J. Keys, Democrat; Jennie Kimble, Democrat; Ashley M. Skipper, Democrat; Patricia Martin Williams, Democrat

Alderman District E, Town of Ferriday: Essie Carter Green, Democrat; Gloria Lloyd, Democrat; David Turner, Independent



Mayor Village of Clayton: Cortlandt Flournoy, Republican; Robert James Lee, Democrat

Chief of Police Village of Clayton: Bobby L. Madison Sr., Democrat, Withdrew

Aldermen Village of Clayton (three to be elected): Michelle D. Bethea1, Democrat, Unopposed; Willie L. “Bill” Evans, Democrat, Unopposed; Valerie T. Parker, Democrat, Unopposed