Voters go to polls in presidential primary election Tuesday

Published 10:58 am Monday, March 11, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

NATCHEZ — Adams County residents go to the polls on Tuesday to cast ballots in the national presidential primary election, as well as the U.S. House Second Congressional District and for Democrats, one of the state’s two U.S. Senate seats.

The Adams County Election Commission will man all 19 precincts in the county, using seven per election workers per precinct.

Election Commissioner Larry Gardner’s message Monday morning to voters was a simply one: “Get out and vote, please. Emphasize please!”

Email newsletter signup

Voter turnout on Tuesday is expected to be low.

“Same as four years ago, and same as eight years ago. Everything is pretty well settled now,” Gardner said, referring to the fact that the both the Democratic and Republican parties have presumptive nominees for president. “The Legislature really needs to move the date up so our election really means something.”

While Nikki Haley, Ron DeSantis and Vivek Ramaswamy have withdrawn from the presidential primary, their names remain on the Republican ballot because none filed to have their names withdrawn from the ballot as required by Mississippi law.

Both Republicans and Democrats will cast ballot for the U.S. Congressional seat representing the Second Congressional District, of which Adams County is a part. For Democrats, the only candidate on the ballot is incumbent U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson of Bolton.

Republicans will choose between candidates Ron Eller, Andrew Scott Smith and Taylor Turcotte.

For U.S. Senate, Republicans will choose between incumbent U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker, Ghannon Burton and Dan Eubanks.

The only candidate on the Democratic primary ballot for U.S. Senate is Ty Pickens.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. If you don’t know where you should go to vote, you can find your precinct at the My Election Day portal on the Mississippi Secretary of State’s website. Simply enter your address and the link will provide the address of your polling place for county and municipal elections.

Mississippi voters must present proof of identity via a photo ID when they vote. Accepted forms of identification include:

• A driver’s license (including a Digital ID provided by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety)

• A photo ID card issued by a branch, department, or entity of the State of Mississippi.

• A U.S. passport

• A government employee ID card

• A firearms license

• A student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college or community/junior college

• A U.S. military ID

• A tribal ID

• Any other photo ID issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the U.S. government or any state government

• A Mississippi Voter Identification Card

All mail-in absentee ballots must be postmarked by March 12 and must be received by county circuit clerk’s offices by March 19.

Click here for a sample ballot for Tuesday’s election.