Parish, Ferriday early voting begins today

Published 8:34 am Saturday, April 13, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

FERRIDAY, La. — Early voting begins today, April 13, in runoff races for Ferriday Mayor and Aldermen.

Concordia Parish is one of eight parishes with both local propositions and local runoff elections on the ballot: Bienville, Concordia, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Jefferson, Natchitoches, Ouachita, and St. Martin.

For Ferriday voters, the General Election ballot includes the runoff election to decide the next Mayor of Ferriday.

Email newsletter signup

Incumbent Mayor Rydell Turner is no longer in the race. Instead, Ferriday has a choice between his opponents Alvin Garrison and Joey Bazile. In the March primary election, Garrison received 49 percent or 467 votes to Bazile’s 18 percent or 169.

There will also be a runoff for the Ferriday Alderman District B seat between Devin Bryan and Devonte Schiele and the District D seat between Andre Keyes and Ashley Skipper. In the March primary election, Bryan collected 92 votes or 40 percent, and Schiele received 74 votes, or 32 percent. Keyes received 48 percent or 105 votes, and Skipper received 71 votes or 32 percent.

For the rest of the parish, local propositions on the ballot include a millage renewal and a parcel fee benefitting the Monterey Fire Protection District.

The 10 mill renewal, if passed, would be for 10 years beginning in 2027 and ending in 2036, which would collect an estimated $150,230 annually “for the purpose of acquiring, constructing, improving, maintaining, and operating the district’s fire protection facilities and equipment.”

The parcel-fee would begin in 2024 and end in 2033 and cost $50 per lot and collect an estimated $50,000 annually.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is April 23 by 4:30 p.m., which can be done online through the Secretary of State’s Voter Portal or in writing through the Registrar of Voters office.

The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted absentee ballot is April 26 by 4:30 p.m.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on election day.