Bryant wins GOP governor primary; Democrats Luckett, DuPree in runoff

Published 10:33 pm Tuesday, August 2, 2011

JACKSON (AP) — Lt. Gov. Phil Bryant of Brandon has won the five-man Republican primary for Mississippi governor.

Hattiesburg Mayor Johnnie DuPree and Clarksdale attorney and businessman Bill Luckett are headed to an Aug. 23 runoff for the Democratic nomination.

Construction executive Dave Dennis of Pass Christian ran second in the Republican primary Tuesday, ahead of businessman Ron Williams of Moss Point, Pearl River County supervisor Hudson Holliday of Poplarville and former state employee James Broadwater of Byram.

Email newsletter signup

In the Democratic contest, DuPree and Luckett were followed distantly Tuesday by teacher William Bond Compton Jr. of Meridian and retired tax assessor Guy Dale Shaw of Coffeeville.

Independent Will Oatis is running in the Nov. 8 general election, and rival factions of the Reform Party hope to field a candidate.