Qualifying deadline for judge candidates set for May 11

Published 12:02 am Tuesday, March 13, 2018


NATCHEZ — The 5 p.m. May 11 deadline for candidates to qualify for sixth circuit court district and 17th chancery court district judge seats is fast approaching.

As of Monday evening, sitting Circuit Judge Lillie Blackmon Sanders and Chancery Judges George Ward and  E. Vincent Davis had already qualified.

Email newsletter signup

The lone sitting judge who has not yet qualified, Circuit Judge Forrest “Al” Johnson, announced Monday that he would not seek reelection for a seventh term. Johnson has presided over the circuit court’s sixth district for the past 24 years.

No other candidates are listed as having submitted qualifying papers for either circuit or chancery judge positions.

Those aiming to qualify for the seats must be at least 26 years of age, a Mississippi citizen for at least the past five years, a resident of the sixth circuit court district — which encompasses Adams, Amite, Franklin and Wilkinson counties — and have practiced as an attorney for at least five years.

The election to fill these seats will take place Nov. 6.

For more information on state elections, visit www.sos.ms.gov/Elections-Vsoting